Microtrips- An Eloh Projects Art Dump and Creative Commons Attribution

in #art6 years ago

MICROTRIPS

Often I will crop especially beautiful sections of my artworks and turn them into their own pieces. This is a major benefit of working digitally and affords me the ability to get maximum bang for my buck, if you will. I spend good time refining my Microtrips and in the process of increasing their overall size I will end up adding and subtracting elements to make each piece work solidly as an individual artwork. Below you will find a whole load of Microtrips as I have dubbed them. In addition I have included various digital, unrefined, sketches that could potentially serve as substrates for future, more involved works. And if you read all the way to bottom you will find some key insights, super tricks for those of you that are familiar with Photoshop.

Sidewinder

Eloh_Projects_Sidewinder_Steemit_02.26.2018.jpg


Talonscape

Eloh_Projects_Talonscape_Steemit_02.26.2018.jpg


Lysergix at Dawn

Eloh_Projects_Microtrip_Steemit_02.26.2018.jpg


Mescal Hugen

Eloh_Projects_Mescal_Hugen_Steemit_02.26.2018.jpg


Prime Hatchling

Eloh_Projects_The_Hatchling_Steemit_02.26.2018.jpg


Swash Yin

Eloh_Projects_SwashYin_Steemit_02.26.2018.jpg


Chartershaft

Eloh_Projects_CharterShaft_Steemit_02.26.2018.jpg


Lotus.png

DIGITAL SKETCHERY

The following images were created in 10 minutes or less using Corel Painter 2015.


Binaural Deconstructivism

Eloh_Projects_BinauralDeconstructivism_Steemit_02.26.2018.jpg


Blaumenpurge

Eloh_Projects_Blaumenpurge_Steemit_02.26.2018.jpg


Quarterfold

Eloh_Projects_Quarterfold_Steemit_02.16.2018.jpg


Squalorping

Eloh_Projects_Squalorping_Steemit_02.26.2018.jpg


Warderborging

Eloh-Projects_Microtrip_Warderborg_Steemit_02.26.2018.jpg


Lotus.png

Eloh Projects Insights

Okay dudes and dudettes. Here are a couple really significant insights into Photoshop. The first one is more straightforward and the second one is a super powerful, mathematics based technique that I happened across one day during some deep research. You may already be familiar with these but if not you are in for a real treat.

Technique 1 - Mandala

Its always important to anchor your digital artworks with traditional elements and influences. Here is a really simple effect achieved by creating 1/8 of an image in your sketch book then importing the image into Photoshop, rotating and flipping it. Repeating this over and over will result in a mandala-like image and give you some surprisingly complex results. Remember to hold "Shift" while you rotate your transform box to snap it to the fractional position in order to line up your assets perfectly.

Eloh_Projects_Insights_Steemit_02.26.2018.jpg

Note- The image says "1/4 Pencil" but is meant to read "1/8 Pencil". Of course the same technique can be used for 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, 1/16 etc. In reality you can create any fraction and mirror and repeat but it requires a bit of division and a slightly different approach.


Technique 2 - Fractals

Note- I have a Mac so the key commands will reflect that. If you have a PC you will have to translate the keys to suit you.

-Choose a layer that you want to create your fractal from.

-Duplicate the layer by right clicking the layer in your layers panel. Hit "Command T" to transform the new layer.

-While you're in Transform mode, re-position and resize the layer how you like and hit "Enter".

-Hold "Shift + Command + Option" and hit "T". Photoshop remembers how you originally repositioned your new image layer within the Transform Box and mathmetically and precisely replicates the transformation everytime you hit T. You can collapse all of the replications and duplicate your fractal and repeat the process to create incredibly complex images.

Eloh_Projects_DiatomaNervosa_Steemit_02.26.2018.jpg

Lotus.png

If you have any question please feel free to ask. I will be placing all of these images under Creative Commons as they are almost entirely experimental. If any of these belong to larger images that are not licensed under Creative Commons then I reserve the rights to the larger images. But if you like any of these and want to use them for your own project then go right ahead.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
That means: you can copy, share, print, edit, re-interpret, remix and use freely even for commercial purposes

DQmeg7nDyne6YUcs3gziWoXVQ2yiBbvPxBttmjjHakgTYRe.png

I hope you have enjoyed this Art Dump.

Follow @elohprojects for more insights and massive breakdowns of Visionary Artworks. Please consider Upvoting and Resteeming if you appreciate this and do feel free to use these images any way you choose.

Cheers,

Sean

e*SignatureAndText small.png

Sort:  

This is aweaome! Ill be following!

Thank you. Much appreciated:)

Yowza! That's some great tips Eloh! Thanks for Sharing. That Mandala sketch looks wicked cool :D

Cool @artzanolino. It took a long time to find that last technique. I kept seeing it used in people's work that I enjoyed and was scouring the deep internet and came across it actually by accident. There are a bunch of ways to use it other than fractals... i.e. just creating mathematically precise repetitions. I use it multiple times in every piece.

Very good, that's how we often find our best art techniques ey? "By accident". Gotta love it when creativity guides us :D

Yes a big portion of thedetails occur out of chaos and accident. Always fun:)

Dude! These are sick! I recently picked up Corel painter and have been slowly learning the program. I assume the photoshop trick would work in painter too? Going to play around with it. Thanks for sharing your work brother 🙏

Hmm. You know I haven't actually tried it. My gut tells me it doesn't work the same in Painter but there is probably a way to do it. Glad you enjoy.

You are such an educator and so giving of your gifts. These small sections demonstrate the stunning quality and detail of your pieces. Great that you can zoom in and use them in other ways too.

Thank you kindly @ricia. I spend so much time in detail that I find some tiny little compositions often. It dawned on me one day that this would be a great way to begin new pieces. :)

The images uploaded are really awesome @elohprojects. Not into digital art or even any trad arts but appreciating I really love looking at them. Especially this one!

Cool @tpkidkai. Glad you like them:)

amazing post thank you so much for sharing this I will sure allow myself to be inspired :)

Youre welcome @alexandravart. And Thank You!!!

This is remarkable. You've received an upvote from @slothicorn! Click Here to Learn More

Glad you like it @slothicorn. Sorry I didn’t follow the rules exactly. I kinda just added Slothicorn as the last tag in case a Slothy wanted to see it and use the art for something. Wanted to put it out there:). Will be sure to follow the rules whenever I submit a formal post. Much appreciation:)

You've inspired me. I'm going to experimenting making a mandala. And that fractal technique on photoshop..very cool!

:) great to hear. Feel free to post them in the comments. I would love to see them.

Will do. I'm no artist, but I'll give it a try first thing tomorrow morning!

Cool. I look forward to it.

Thanks again for the inspiration @elohprojects. Just a quick experimental.

ah yes, great stuff! About cropping: I do that quite often also with my digital stuff, but in past, I had done so with my actual paintings - at times the overall pieces didn't work out, so I selected the part that is good and cut up the canvas.
upvoted, resteemed and shared:
https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/968821693786542080
FYI: I have embedded that Twitter account on my VAG site (where you are also featured: ELOH PROJECTS), and of late, most of the posts are shares from Steemit artists:
https://www.vagallery.com/visionary-twitter.html

Thanks Otto. Yeah I think I realized this little trick a long time ago when I use to paint more on canvas. I destroyed one of my bigger pieces in a fit of rage and ended up with a little square of a hawk and some Venosa-esque background bubbles. I was like, Oh that's neat:)

visionaryartcom Visionary Art tweeted @ 28 Feb 2018 - 12:14 UTC

Microtrips- An Eloh Projects Art Dump and Creative Commons Attribution — Steemit

steemit.com/art/@elohproje… / https://t.co/oQeJGAW9ns

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

I joined the Steemit Artist's group by the way. I was thinking of starting a Discord Channel for Visionary Artists. It would give us a good way to communicate in real time without having to go through FB Messenger.

Wow, some really cool images here, maybe I should pick up some digital stuff again soon! And I liked your way of explaining it all! Especially the mandalas 1/8. Hope to see more like this!

Cool @brakan. Glad you got some value out of this. Definitely more to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61