A Page From an Old Sketchbook/ Blog Entry

in #art7 years ago

Well I suppose it was kind of silly to try to express my frustration with the state of things concerning my gender in a space that is dominated by the opposite gender.

I can fully understand how it may be difficult for many of you to understand where I am coming from, and I shouldn't expect you to understand something that you haven't directly experienced. I wasn't thinking.

I will admit that it was a bit distressing to receive so much negative feedback for having expressed my frustration. However, just the same as it wasn't fair of me to expect understanding, it was unfair of those who responded negatively to try to discredit my dissatisfaction with the state of things.


But that's just how I feel about it.


Moving right along.


I've learned from this. I've learned not to share gendered experiences and thoughts on this platform, as they are as yet not accepted by the majority of users. Easy enough to do.


I hope you enjoy this page out of one of my old sketchbooks.



Can you tell how much obsessive compulsive disorderly function went into creating this? This was me, trying to be edgy and cool.

But that construction aside, I still love the end product of this page in particular.

Sort:  

nice drawing.

Thanks very much.

Dear ellenmarieisme, your sketch really captures my imagination! I love the way the edge of the hand extends into seeming water marks connected to various text pieces that are so mysterious. My mind keeps trying to figure out what the messages are about. Thank You! - Dev

Thank you! I will never know what the messages are, because I was free-flowing when I wrote them, and then I went back and wrote another message over the first, effectively making it unreadable. lol I have no idea what I was writing about.

I just read this and some of your older blog post.
I wanted to say that I disagree with you thinking it is silly to express your feeling of something that may not be relatable to everyone who sees it. I praise for doing that. How else are we going to make changes? Rant all you want, express your feelings and explain your experiences. Eventually, an impact WILL be made.
ALSO, great sketch. Very thought provoking.
I followed you, I enjoy your post.

Thank you so much! I took a look at your blog, and that's photography, right? O.o For a second there, I was like "OMG THIS IS A DRAWING?" haha and then I realized it's probably a photograph, but DAMN that composition is gorgeous! I just LOVE the placement of the subjects (self-portraits?) in the spaces that you have! I followed you. Thank you for the kind words of encouragement. Looking forward to seeing more of your work!

Haha! yes they are images. I use multiple mediums, soft and oil pastels, watercolor and pencil. But realism is not my forte. I wish.
And yes I took them of myself, its a very awkward prosses that involves lots of running back and forth. But I enjoy it because it allows me to take the images exactly how I imagened them without the disconnect of communicating the idea to another person. I encourage yo to try it sometime if you have a camera!
Thank you, I look foward to seeing your art as well!

Just read your other post and upvoted. I hate gender inequality. I despise religions which treat women different than men. And that includes the religion we had in Europe before it evolved more to our western standards. As far as the fact some men see women as a distraction, that is their problem and these men would need to be relieved from their jobs if they feel that. I work with women every day and i see them as colleagues with valuable input, just as much as my male colleagues. Sorry you have to put up with some of the nonsense, be sure to know though, this is not the way 'normal' men think.

Thank you. I did need to hear this... I feel like I've been thrust into a very unwelcoming community in the crypto space because so many of our peers are men who have been misguided. They just don't want to hear it.

I've even been told by a few of them things like I should refrain from spending "too much" time with Omar (my boyfriend) because doing so would "suffocate" him and cause him to "seek out other women". It's just... uncomfortable and quite sad. Of course, Omar enjoys my company because of the fact that I busy myself with other things when I see that he needs his time alone. Or he may just leave home for awhile to get that alone time, while I enjoy my time alone at home. Some of our followers just assume otherwise, ya know?
Thank you for hearing me out and understanding. I really needed it.
Bless you. I followed you as well.

Happy to be of help. Every guy is different. Any guy saying that you should not be spending that much time with him, should know he can not generalize every man like that. I love spending time with my wife. And when i want to spend time with my friends ill tell her and we make it happen. If Omar does the same, then what is the problem. And besides, its nobody else's business how you choose to have a relationship with him. Speak soon!

Indeed. It's my own. =D Thank you .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55128.91
ETH 2303.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31