Hark Back to Old Art Works from Teenage Years| Mixed Media : Oil Pastels, Watercolors and Colored Pencils

in #art6 years ago

ART AND CURIOSITY



collage.png

As an ambivert, I find it relaxing to be alone and mix-matching colors on a pallet. I have this OCD-ish of making sure my color pencils, pastels, crayons are consistently laid based on their hues. It gives me an eerie feeling if colors aren't arranged accordingly, goosebumps all over. Maybe that is the reason I enjoyed the blend doku game, my friend @Dubmenikki introduced to me.

As a curious human bean, I love colors and rainbows with a kinky unicorn. But not only bright colors are my thing. I love dark colors that outlined the eyes, brows, smile, figures, clouds, sunsets moonlight and many more.

Being an ambivert is being torn in between extrovert and introvert. I love to recharge by doing art works and staring at flowers, plants, mosses and my dogs.

Here my old artworks and I would like to discuss my thoughts in each of them.


Trees in different seasons.

CIRCA 2008

I remember making this during middle school. Being through tough times, I wished being tree, stagnant yet stable.

2008 was the year of major changes during teenage years. I need to adjust to my new body, to new home and to new surroundings. That being said, I was slowly developing anxiety. I can't sleep hat much because I am always worried of unknown things.

Life in general back then is fast paced and I cannot coped up. I feel so alone and unloved.

WILDFLOWERS
Circa 2007

At 13, girls at my age are receiving flowers from their hidden suitors a.k.a church flings and 1 hour dates. As I walk passed by the churchside, there are wild flowers in different shapes and colors.

I also don't have a smart phone back then, I only have my memory to remake the flowers.
Flowers that I am longing to see up until today.




Curious Lass
Circa 2009

I have had things over my head back 2009. I grew some buttocks, I had softer and bigger bust.
I am secretly having a crush to an anime character. I am always weird. I became fan of watching Korean Dramas because why not.

I became too conscious about how I look, I began dressing up and trimming my hair split ends.
But I am still a childish geek who wanted to make sure I don't missed any episode of The Big Bang Theory.



Neurothemis ramburii
Circa 2010

Captured a fast and gorgeous dragonfly during our entomology field test.
If I get the chance to talk to the creator of everything, I would ask why does he makes intricate designs to insects and animals and why should he make their living patterns complicated?

Dear Doggo
CIRCA 2011

At 4 years old, I always remember myself hiding behind my parents whenever a dog is near. Even a cute little mix breed will make me cry out loud. I was bitten by a shih tzu when we paid a visit to my dad's ancestral house. I remembered hugging that doggo because he's just as cute as the rainbow carebears my mom and dad gave me during slumber at night. His curly and fluffy fur is as soft as my pillows and blankets. Pulled his tail up, the cute doggo became fury and bit my arms. There, I saw my very own blood gushing thru my slender arms.



)\

Heliconia psittacorum
Circa 2012

This perennial herb is banana and a ginger all at once. Yes, they share both features.
This flower produces nectar to attract hummingbirds and feed them.
Insects uses the bracts to take shelter and to reproduce.
I love how this herb grown here in the Philippines since it is native in South America.
Well, I guess there are good things Spanish colonialism has brought to us.



Up to this date, being a young adult, I still make some artworks depending on my availability. How I wish I am still young and not worry about finances and time constraints. I am still inlove with colors and I am still looking forward creating memories with each pieces. I am still the same geekish child-at-heart, weird yet bold at the same time.

Thanks for Reading!

Love,
Ella


Recent Post

Meet my NEW HOUSEMATE @dubmenikki | Housemate Series

Sort:  

OMg you’re a talented person! I always admire people who can paint, draw and etc as it was never my talent.

Thank you so much for appreciating!

Proud housemate here ❤️

lezz do some artworks na balik!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations @ellamielle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Congratulations @ellamielle! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ellamielle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91