Art Therapy for The Soul with Kelly Jimenez

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I am a sail heating up from a large column of fire beside me. Clouds of electricity are feeding emotions to the nothings in the sweet morning freedom is the ability to help but also to feel sorrow because everything is part of a much larger entities. The politics of the after – world bore me as they feel no good. I follow a path at times too bright but when the colors learn to sit harmoniously, things that within become possible of incomparable beauty. There is joy, is so much blood and passion slashed at the feet of a punctuated forest. Many dimensions give way to an Opening of clouds but that ludicrous fantasy exists in my soul nonetheless. Subtle hues give way to undiscriminating masses of colors ceaselessly trying to emerge from the surface of this alien element. Soft touches of black garnish a land which would otherwise be at war with its own mother who never asked for more than just to be left alone. Dans la noirceur je m’éveille enfin prêt à expier les taches de mauve fades. Des origines on en fait plein mais de pouvoir les expliquer avec éloquence est la base même de l’élégance mais aussi parfois de la constipation. Our mind is full of vestigial reflexes, the challenge is to keep it vaginal.

0A462434-31D7-4E44-95E7-B87A0A194283.jpeg

This poem and painting were both born of a session with my friend Kelly Jimenez who teaches a class called Meditation and Art Creation right after I do my own Cartoon and Comics class. Celeste, a student of my own from an entirely different class showed up for the first time on the last class meaning she had completely forgot she had registered and was there because Kelly gave her a phone call to remind her. I decided to stick around for this spiritual jam, she began explaining what it means to put judgement aside and let art speak for itself. For Kelly the process IS the result and she places herself as a guide in order to allow us to teach ourselves to be spontaneous. An art therapy degree never hurt anyone to convey this unique approach, one that she has under her belt.

This was my second time sticking around to participate in this class. It all begins with a guided meditation but Kelly is consistently minimalistic and uses a minimal amount of words to help us quite our mind. She will for example bring us back to the breath which did wonders for me because I was stressed out to begin with. I feel like the three of us really got into that deep enlarging space where there is room for the aura to breath. There is so much to let go of that there was a steady stream of thoughts but fortunately no judgement.

It was then time to get painting, I asked if we couldn’t open the blinds but she said it was better to paint in dim light to forgo some control over our creations. To further this loss of control, we were to paint with our non dominant hand which in my case is my left hand. I asked if I could finger paint which she gladly allowed. There were also a few brush strokes at the end. I peeked at Celeste’s midway and when I looked at it again at the end of the painting part. It had evolved quite a bit. I was in awe at the sheer rhythm of her composition. I asked Kelly if she often meditates before making art on her own, she said sometimes yes.

I had not painted in acrylics in a long time and I much enjoyed the tactile experience as my fingers slid and dabbed onto the paper like raindrops on the ground sometimes using the side of my hand. When we were done she held it up to us in front of the window and then the backlighting made it all come to life. She turned it around on all four angles and asked us about the shapes we see. I saw a sail which served as the starting point for the creative writing part.

665626CB-9A8D-418E-B429-F9D00C8D7031.jpeg
Here is the work at different angles and with different filters to show you how different it was to me from one angle to the next.

7E2BBF36-6345-41BF-9F72-7676C8581D00.jpeg

When we began the creative writing portion of the class, Kelly thought I was staring at my painting so to make sure I wasn’t overthinking, she urged me to start with a list of words as spontaneous as could be.
Mine were:

Hope
Despair
Clouds
Fantasy
Punctuation
Forever
Tomorrow
We
Are
No
Freedom
Within
Entity
Too Bright
Slashed

Now this really initiated my process having the wind in my sail to write the poem above. It is quite an interesting introspection of self and I am grateful for Kelly for her prompts which helped my rational brain quiet down. What a wonderful coincidence to be able to do all this with Celeste who has shown me so much support on Facebook, validating my content creation with her unwavering support. Checking out links to this very blog.

00DBA60F-10AF-4100-B5C5-05F529761C92.jpeg
This is Celeste’s piece. I love how some of the purple and yellow circles are more faded than others. It is bold yet subdued.

924DEDDE-8E3C-402B-BA1F-2C5488A9BA65.jpeg
This is Kelly’s work, I am very attracted to the colour palette and the tubular symbol painted in black. The red adds the little bit anarchy that it needs to be edgy.

My takeaway from this jam is to cherish the art I make, Just making it is not enough, it also needs to be celebrated, cherished and pondered over. I am an artist, not an art factory and without a healthy dose of mindfulness, art becomes no more than a commodity.

If you are ever in Vancouver and would like to participate in one of Kellie’s classes, check out her website with the following link:
http://www.kellyjimenez.art/

Free to be...free to create.
No conventional rules to follow,
No results as a goal.
Dive into the creative process with abandon,
To allow what needs to emerge to do so.
Art as alchemy for the heart and soul. ​

                                                                                                                                                    ~ Kelly Jimenez
Sort:  

Hi @edouard, How are you?
I like your painting.. especially the second snap.. it's a better perspective for me :) I wonder how can a painting can make us overthinking? is it because of the bond between the painter and the painting?

I don't know art at all.. but I try to enjoy them with heart. I've featured you in my post for the Pay It Forward Contest this week. Please have a look at this link.

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@cicisaja/pay-it-forward-curation-contest-week-13-lucky-that-i-joined-steemit

Thank you and following you to see more of your creation!

This comment protected by @dustsweeper

Thank you for including me in your post, I thoroughly enjoyed it! For the artistic process Kelly is goin for, it’s about letting go of the illusion of control as well and to accept the art that comes without expectations. The bond between artist and art has many flavours. This particular way nurtures love and promotes self-discovery. To do that, you must let go of the preconceived versions of self.

To accept the art that comes without expectation😐, so then the artist will find freedom and more fun time to create what's in mind. Hhmm... thank you @edouard👍

How long was the class session, an hours or so? Amazing that you can finished the painting and create a poem too, thumbs-up 👍👍.

Found your post from @cicisaja post in the pay it forward contest this week. Please have a look at the contest post, you'll see many great artists and I agree with you artist are not commodities.

Thanks for the encouragements, I believe we were at it for 1.25 hours.

This is such a wonderful post! I love the idea of not overthinking the entire creative process and just letting "it" take over. And the suggestion for you to simply brainstorm words to get you going on the writing process was brilliant:)

Are you talking Vancouver, BC?

I'm one of the judges in a Pay it Forward Curation contest where @cicisaja featured your post! It's a weekly contest and we'd love for you to join us this week :)

Yes, in BC. I love this contest already, right now, my pipeline is clogged but I will get to nominating others ASAP!

Thank you a million times, to be honest I was getting bored with the low engagement level on my blog until now. This (Steemit) is os much work on top of work but it’s also so much fun!!!!

*edit
I just saw your Mead quote as I was about to follow you (I am!). Yass Queen werk!

We lived in Vancouver for years but just relocated to Mexico, if you can believe it. The winter two years ago did it for me:) And yes, that Mead quote is my all time fave :)

Steemit is a lot like work on work haha, but I love it! It takes a lot of commenting on other's posts to get the engagement you want on your own...or at least that's what I've found. I'm also a member of several groups who are pretty supportive of each other. One is the pay it forward community (Here is their Discord invite link) and I also curate for @asapers; our focus is quality unnoticed posts; here is their invite link).

Cheers!

It's weird because I don't know you at all, but I feel a weird steemit connection because you're in Vancouver :)

@cisisaja featured you in the pay it forward curation contest. That is what brought me to your post

Thank you for the information you provided. Art is an area I could use help with.

I am so happy it proved useful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40