Lion Original Dark Charcoal Drawing by EdgarsArt

in #art8 years ago

This is my Lion Charcoal drawing-Size 60x90cm. To make this i spent around 160h. All round the world different charity organizations and individuals are traveling miles to save the remaining lions in areas where the population of the lions is small. I am an animal lover, so I am privileged to raise awareness of their needs with my art. That is the main reason why i have so many Lion and Tiger artworks.





To make those darker spots,i used Dark charcoal pencil. To draw the lions fur i used mostly Medium charcoal, so that there would be contrast. In the end i always do some final work with an eraser, to make those highlight spots.




Usually i tone the background of my works when i have almost finished drawing it. Then i smudge the background, and then i do some final work with an eraser. For example: To draw this it took me around 150 hours. Then i did the background. It takes only about 30 minutes. And then i do some final work with an eraser. That takes about 10 hours.

All of my wildlife charcoal works i draw using Dark and Medium pencil. Its rare that i use also Light one.
Certainly, the pencils with particular shades may help achieving darker or lighter tones, I believe it's more important to exercise control over a simple pencil meaning to learn how to control which tone is used (But noting that if a incredibly dark shade is required you should not attempt to create it with a 2B for instance, the paper will only be ripped) So when i need to draw darker tones, i use dark charcoal. I could achieve the same with Medium pencil, but just like with 2b- i will only rip the paper.

This photo was sent to me after i shipped this work to the person who purchased it. Its a great feeling after you have invested hundreds of hours in one particular work, and you know that it ill be taken care of afterwards.

I will include a link to my verification post, that all of the drawings posted here are done by me: https://steemit.com/art/@edgarsart/edgarsart-original-art-now-verified
More of my art you can find on my twitter page: https://twitter.com/EdArtDrawings

Sort:  

I know I've said it before, but your attention to detail is incredible. I love this drawing,

Thank you:) Yes, thats something i take very serious:)

Cool
Keep Steeming On!

Incredible work! You can feel the fur. Does it bite? :) It looks nice...

Thank you:) Sometimes !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62