Cat Pencil Commissioned Drawing-Part 1 By EdgarsArt

in #art8 years ago

Here is a drawing that i am working on right now at the moment. It is a commissioned work. I will make this part 1 since i have done almost half of the drawing. When i will finish it, i will make Part 2. I will include also further development of the drawing and the final finished result of it.


I started the work with the eyes. As i have said many times before- I start with one eye, and then after some time i move on to another one. I don't finish the first one. I never do that. Its easier for me to develop both eyes equally. Essentially, a cat's eye has the same anatomy as a human: each eyeball sits back in the skull and is partially covered by the eyelids. I started to draw the eyeballs with a round shape. Then i paid attention to the shape of the upper and lower eyelids. The upper eyelid considerably covers the eye, while the lower eyelid curves around it. The inside corner of the eye is normally lower than the outside corner. I used mostly 2B pencil from the start.


After i did the basic shape of the eyes with some details to make them realistic enough for me to move on to the fur, i started to make some strong pencil strokes. I wanted to make those black highlights. In the original picture given, the cat is kinda dark colored, so i am still using 2B pencil. Sometimes i just pushed it harder, if i needed some darker strokes, but mostly i pushed it gently. I prefer better to push the pencil without any force ,sometimes just a simple touch to get the effect i need.

Here you can clearly see the difference in the eyes from the previous step. Here i shaded the eyes with a simple brush and added more shading with the pencil. The eyes won't look quite realistic without the surrounding fur. So when i was finished with the eyes, it was very important to pay attention to its length, color and direction.


I was working and developing the drawing from the right the right and moved to the left. Just like i started the work, I started with the left eye.


This is how far i have made it. I have almost done half of it. I think the hardest part is done. I have the right expression i needed and from this point it will be quite easy to work further with it. After it will be done i will make the full final part or this work. And i forgot to tell that this work is on size-A3

I will include a link to my verification post, that all of the drawings posted here are done by me: https://steemit.com/art/@edgarsart/edgarsart-original-art-now-verified
More of my art you can find on my twitter page: https://twitter.com/EdArtDrawings

Sort:  

I love seeing the progression of your art. It is truly amazing. I feel like I can already pet it!

Oh man that's just next level stuff :D

Looks amazing! Glad I followed your account early :)

Thank you:) I am also satisfied with the result on this so far!

Good artists inspire me to draw and paint, your work inspires me!

True for me also! Thank you:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61291.28
ETH 2671.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52