"Ithaqa" Comic Book Update #189 New Mixing With The Old

in #art6 years ago

The_Fool_Page_3.jpg

Pages like this are the ones that are the most painful for me, i.e. pages in which we had to scrap old art in order to make way for a better story.

Ithaqa - Page 01 - Letters by LG (v1).jpg

This is the first page of the comic I wrote, and and as a result is probably the single page that most suffered from my inexperience as a comic book writer.

For a brief period of time (pre-Theresa) I toyed with making this series a webcomic, which would have required me to cram even more info into an even smaller space, and I think when you look at this page you can see that some of that mindset hadn't fully worn off yet.

This page was always confusing though, it seems to imply that Mookie knows who these women are, even though he doesn't. It was born of a need to introduce a LOT of characters in just 24 pages, so I crammed them in there. In the original issue 1, Mookie and Harvey get solo character development time, you can differentiate the two very easily. The three women characters were forced to share the later scenes with each other. I felt that I needed to give them some individual characterization asap, so that they wouldn't just meld into a single mass of samey female characters. To fight this I gave them each a panel on their own to try and convey as much personality as possible, but the end result was imperfect, and I'm glad the addition of new pages allowed me to flesh them out at later points in the issue.

If you have any friends or family who might be interested in a Lovecraftian horror comic, please send them to our website to sign up for some free pages! https://www.ithaqacomic.com/contact-us/

Additionally, If you're new to this comic I strongly recommend you check out our instagram, as I'm currently uploading pages every day.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ithaqacomic/

Theresa Chiechi's (The Artist @la-fumettista) website is here: http://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sign up to buy the comic on our website: https://www.ithaqacomic.com/

FB: https://www.facebook.com/pg/IthaqaComic/about/?ref=page_internal
Twitter: @IthaqaComic

Sort:  

Really interesting to see the art and read your explanation of why you created it the way you did!

Thank you! Glad there are still people reading, in spite of the recent drop in the price of steem!

And I'm so glad there are people like you still posting quality content!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Always wonderful to see updates to this <3 <3 <3 Really loving every page :D

Thank you for checking in! I'm glad to be back in the saddle!

Just signed up at the site! Your work continues to be impressive as hell. I love it! #comics

Welcome aboard, I just sent you some pages of the comic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55