people I draw at coffee shops

in #art8 years ago

I tend to draw people at coffee shops for the obvious reason that they sit very still for long periods of time but also because I don't know them, which makes it easier. When you know someone, it clouds your drawings to cater to your opinion of them rather than what they really look like. Case in point, I draw some of my friends and family repeatedly and sometimes they come out looking handsome while other times they start considering botox irl. When it's someone you don't know, you can only draw what you see or the impression they give off. This creates a really relaxing drawing experience that is neither particularly creative nor very emotionally taxing. Just good practice.

#art #steemit #drawing 

Sort:  

I upvoted You

Great work, really nice style to your drawings.

Thank you. that means a lot to me. <3

Nice @dream
Shot you an Upvote :)

cool drawings, I've uploaded some art as well if you care to check it out.

I have to say I wasn't expecting food art. lol. Latte art is terribly tricky.

Do they know you are drawing them?
Any particular reaction when they see you doing it?

I'm really shy, it would make me fell dizzy a stranger portraiting me.

@rigel I sometimes introduce myself and let them know. I'm really outgoing in real life, so I generally meet people eventually anyway if I'm there for long enough. That turns into a weird conversation down the line. Something to the effect of "oh, hey, by the way, I did a drawing of you before we met." But often, these drawings are done very quickly, so I rarely get caught. lol

I'm curious if anyone has offered to buy your drawing of them. In some ways he drawings remind me of Monmarte in Paris (in a good way).

No, generally they just snap a shot of it with their phones and we exchange information. It can be a really lovely way to connect with someone.

Hi! Good post.

How much does a pirate pay for corn? -A buccaneer!

Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50