The Unlikely Friends: My art of the fox and the hare

in #art7 years ago (edited)

As artists we are allowed to create the type of world we wish in our work. When I work with animal subjects, which I often do, I take liberty. After losing two hens to a fox the other day, I thought I am making a fox happily sharing the world with one of his normal prey, in this case a rabbit.

I give you, The Unlikely Friends:

nov25sketchdone.jpg

I even played with scale a bit and made the rabbit a bit on the large size, to sort of hold his own in this world of predator and prey as friend.

As usual, I start with a very rough sketch, this time focusing on the two subjects more so then their surroundings.

nov25sketch1.jpg

Although the final piece is not done in watercolor, I like to sometimes play with it a bit on the sketch to sort of get the feel of my colors.

nov25sketch2.jpg

Then, however, I erase all that and go to ink. This was when I realized I wanted a rather stylized background, just picking up the hint of a field of flowers with various lines.

nov25sketch3.jpg

Then I made the background base with broad strokes of cool color to recede with some bits of warm pinks I could then highlight after I finished the subjects up.

nov25sketch4.jpg

I like to use the approach I use in my more fine art paintings but with the use of ink lines you definitely have a more illustrative style. I enjoy both types of final pieces, so I really let the movement of the strokes dictate if I am going to go full tilt fine art impressionistic brushwork, or use it (as I did here) as the play of color to be filled into an inked outline.

Well, I hope your day is filled with the potential for unlikely friendships, or at the very least full of flower filled meadows.

If you do like my work , I do sell it both at prints, and also on things here

Sort:  

Aww this is a really adorable piece of art. And I love the colors you used on the rabbit, the purples in the shadows are great!

Thanks so much for explaining and documenting the process. It is always fascinating to see a piece of art come to life bit by bit and get a glimpse into another artist's process. Much love - Carl "Totally not a bot" Gnash




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original and truly creative work of the post author.

Learn more:
https://steemit.com/curation/@carlgnash/what-human-certified-original-works-means-to-me-a-totally-unofficial-mission-statement-from-just-one-person-in-a-decentralized

Thanks for being an original and creative content creator! You rock!

This is really nice, thank you for liking my artwork. I really love steemit community and I have meet some other great artists and writers on here !

nice art , your drawing is very awesome ,

Thank you so much.

Hey just noticed that the title of this post is "... the Rabbit and the Hare". Just wanted to point this out in case you meant to include the fox in the title?

OH, goodness. Thank you so much! :)

the rabbit has such a sweet expression on his face. A very sweet composition :) :)

Thank you so much. I love rabbits, so adorable.

It shows :) ... this one is super adorable. Makes me wanna hug him :)
You are most welcome. I am a great fan of illustrative art. It is amazing how you guys infuse so much character and expression in your characters :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71639.05
ETH 3841.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49