You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Morning Drawing - Bain de bouche de jésuite

in #art5 years ago

I had to laugh at your comments (as I followed your link and read your responses) and the "US Puritan" thing is funny and sort of true. It's odd, too, as I often think of the UK as so much more a "christian" country than the US in the sense of culture such as they have nativity scenes in public spaces and say Merry Christmas, which oddly is NOT the case in USA.

So, it's a sort of sham set of 'christian' virtue that, like much of USA, is just a Disney land prop made up for show. Meanwhile, US movies are so overtly sexualized but in a way that combines violence, if it is nudity connected with love, it's a no no, but if it's torture or extreme fantasy/war, then bring it on. Also only Female nudity I might odd.

The US is an odd place and even though I am an citizen and my ancestors were also those first Puritans, I never have felt really American, in that so much of the general ideals just never feel like my own...I say happily sat in the UK as I type this :)

Sort:  

The truth is that these so called guidelines are a strange combination of politically correct corporate culture, and a lowest denominator of some kind of Christian fantasy morals. I just wrote a long rant and it was much more about the upper middle class in the western world than it is solely a US thing. Then I deleted it.

The US is a weird place in so many ways - but not in bad ways. I love the US craziness and cultural confusion. Only sad thing is that there is so many scars and so much pain that keep popping up. The only wars you ever had on your own soil was civil wars.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68734.33
ETH 3745.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72