Origimnal Sumi-e Painting - Wild Orchids - HaikusteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)


yellow wild orchids
painted in Sumi-e style
pure beginner's luck

wild orchid sumi-e.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

This is one of my earliest sumi-e paintings. The wild orchid is often painted by beginners, because the leaves require long flowing strokes created with whole arm movements, whereas the petals require more controlled stokes. The leaves are painted in ink, whereas the flowers are painted in traditional Chinese watercolor.


The artwork is also available as a stock image at Getty Images
Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it.
To check out my art prints and stock images online, please visit my website.

dmcamera steemusa banner.png

TEAMCANADA-SIGN - smallest.png

Sort:  

Beautiful, get the frame.

K now I'm confused, your Scottish born and live in Florida..what's the Canadian connection?

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 16 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

so creaitive :D i like the flow you have with the water colors, i need to learn how to draw :P LOL , Im super impressed :D <Sweden waves -Miss you Canada 💕

Glad you like it. It's a very relaxing type of painting, but you have to look to find someone who knows how to teach it. I can't draw!

Congratulations @dmcamera! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awww... so pretty... Caught my eye, it did! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95