"Bald & Beautiful With A Twist" challenge done with gouaches

in #art6 years ago

Hi Steemians :)



Today for art discord challenge, "Bald & Beautiful With A Twist," I did a simple painting with gouaches with a limited palette. Topic-wise, I decided to do a hairless guinea pig. Originally I wanted to go for Sphynx cat, but somebody else beat me to it! Darn it! 😁

Here's my final result - I'll show my progress (finally, I know! It's about time haha) to show how I achieved this. Perhaps it will help somebody.
P1120751.jpg

This limited palette I'm using is called Zorn Palette, it consists just two colors, red and yellow ochre. Ivory black acts like a blue color in this wheel. It's really a fun palette to play with because it teaches you two things. One, optical illusion - with such a warm scheme any "grey" colors will appear cool and blue. Two, you don't need all colors to pull it off. Not everything is high in saturation. This is one of many methods of achieving color harmony. Try it out!
P1120752.jpg

Anyways, here's my progress ~

Stage 1: I collected few references and drew my own guinea pig. Once I felt satisfied, I move on to the painting stage...
P1120746.jpg

Stage 2: Started filling in the red background - mostly so that I won't have a pure white background to interrupt my ability to judge the colors and values when I start painting the guinea pig.
P1120747.jpg

Stage 3: The light and dark areas have been established so I could make sure the contrast is decent.
P1120748.jpg

Stage 4: Started filling the mid-tone and the rest in. The line where light and shade meets is still rough....
P1120749.jpg

Stage 5: So I smoothed them out. Yup, it felt much better. Started adding semi-cool colors to enhance the warmth. Plus to show that guinea pigs have blue veins too. ;) Also added the highlights.
P1120750.jpg

Stage 6: Detailed it up some more. Darkened some areas to give it extra 3d feeling. To give it extra depth, I softened up some edges and lightened up the red circle at the bottom so it could be more integrated with the white background. While it's a simple painting, I felt happy with the result so I signed it and called it done.
P1120751.jpg

I hope you've enjoyed my progress and as always, please feel free to leave feedback. I strive to improve my future articles for you! Also if you have any questions - please feel free to ask.

Thank you so much for reading and cheers!
Dm7

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Dm7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @dm7! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

@dm7 you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Congratulations @dm7! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27