Baybayin and My Notebook [Samples - Tutorial - & Other Things]

in #art7 years ago

IMG20170822155748.jpg

This is my little Moleskine notebook. I was just in highschool when my cousin gave this to me - it's actually a reject she got for free. It has no front leather cover so I made one for it using mache'd book pages and turned it to what it looks like above. (I painted the cover with ink and made writings on it.) It reads "Ano? Mahal mo ba siya?" while the other wordings are hidden with blackened post its. (That translates to "What? Do you love him/her?")

This post isn't about that customized notebook alone, today you may learn how to write in Baybayin.

My notebook was filled with all sort of notes in Filipino, English, and some are written in Baybayin. It also contains artworks on half of its pages. Among the first few pages here's what you will see:

IMG20170822155412.jpg

Writings in Baybayin - I already forgot what I wrote there and haven't got the time to re-read it and do a translation. If you know how to read this script and if my writing is legible then be my guess, I don't suggest doing that though - this may be something personal or embarrassing, I may not now. Haha.

IMG20170822155433.jpg

Up top is another page with some things in Baybayin while the other parts, as you can see, are written in English or Filipino (Taglish). I will have to apologize for my handwriting is as bad as how it looks there, in fact it's actually worse than that if I have to write faster. Especially now that I don't write using pen that much anymore - since typing on a keyboard is much faster and efficient.

IMG20170822155457.jpg

On this page - I tried to be more creative - the left page is an actually book page and the red here was colored with food colour that my Mother use in making rice-cakes pink! On the right side - more writings in Baybayin.


I did say you will learn how to write it, right?

Baybayin incorrectly known as Alibata is a pre-Filipino writing system from the islands known as the “Philippines”. Baybayin comes from the word “baybay”, which literally means “spell”

Okay then, here it is, there's a page in the notebook that houses the 'tutorial' or guide on how to write Baybayin (in my font - cause apparently there's no standard - that I know of - for writing this way that there are so many custom fonts and some look really similar but others have notable differences):

IMG20170822155556.jpg

Here's my simple guide for it. I do hope it helps - it's not a professional or a very good tutorial but it teaches the basics. To compensate for it though I looked through the web and find more tutorials for you guys:

Happy learning guys!


Here's more of what's inside my notebook:

I made a collage of some pages that I think you guys will appreciate.


There's also one page that has a little pocket in it and there are some artworks inserted in it. I've spread them out a bit as you can see here:



Those little artwork 'bars' actually have drawings on the other side too - they were originally from a little elongated sketchbook I got.

I like doing art and crafts randomly that's why I filled this notebook with those stuff above. The notebook still is half-full and there are lots of pages that are looking for my attention and time. They're calling me to pour art onto them - we'll get there my little friend - once I have more time I'll smother you with ink and colors!


Maraming Salamat!

Thank you so much!




Sort:  

You are very creative! It makes me cry to remember all those notebooks I made in the past with my drawings too and your story reminds me the way I was before. Since I lived in a countryside, it was hard for me to buy a color pen, watercolor, oil pastel and crayon so your idea reminds of it and I am amazed that you did not lost your old notebook coz mine are gone since we went to another place and new house in the city. I love art and notebook. I like this. You remind me of the past!

I did keep most of my artworks in one place so I was able to bring everything when I moved recently - I have numerous notes with drawings in them and some more solo paper. It's also easier if you have a camera (even a mobile phone) so you can capture your art right away and upload it somewhere or save it somewhere so if ever you lost the original/actual artwork - you still have it in soft copy. :D

Nahuli na naman ako dev lol
Keep up the good work!

Nahuli?

Thanks Gil! :)))

Those artworks are really nice. Worth keeping piece. :)

Thanks for appreciating my work @zararina! :)

very impressive @deveerei and interesting facts. Would you know if baybayin is originally Filipino's?

Thank you so much. I think it was before we were even Filipinos.

Upvoted. I'll be resteeming this now :]

Thank you so much!

I am Cornholio! You will name your baby Bungholio! Is he an albino? Holio Bungholio... will be albino... and a gringo....

dairy note good jobs, this is a intersting post.

Thank you! Glad you liked it.

beautiful article and art

Thanks @padmakshi. Glad you like it!

In fairness, ganda ng sulat mo... 'pag Baybayin. 😂 Awesome drawings! Especially the pen sketches at the last picture.

Haha. Alam mo yan Aira. :D Salamat ng madami!!! :))))

Nice artworks and notes @deveerei

Thanks sir @errymil! Idol kita e haha :D

good ur notebook

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61775.46
ETH 3455.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52