You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Veneer of Civilisation

in #art7 years ago

I really like the image... I see heat and light and "activity" above this darkness that might be interpreted as our primal selves. Of course, I'm also one of those people who can basically "anthropomorphize a toothpick" so in the whitest patch I also see a reclining lady with wild white hair...

As for civilization? Most people seem to believe that our civilization is only a thin veneer... but I suppose it depends on your perspective. As a species, we have the capacity to employ rational thought (not just instincts) as a means of survival... that allows me to make the judgment call to NOT react with whatever I am feeling in the moment, because it might "end badly" for me. Choices have consequences. That's part of what makes us civilized... we understand that. Even if I am UNcivilized, I still understand that if I pick up a weapon and arbitrarily kill you to get your lunch... one of "yours" is probably going to come after me and try to kill me.

Sort:  

Of course, I'm also one of those people who can basically "anthropomorphize a toothpick" so in the whitest patch I also see a reclining lady with wild white hair...

Lol.

Choices have consequences. That's part of what makes us civilized... we understand that. Even if I am UNcivilized, I still understand that if I pick up a weapon and arbitrarily kill you to get your lunch... one of "yours" is probably going to come after me and try to kill me.

Good points - although in the "heat of the moment" rational thought can very easily disappear or be overridden.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62209.21
ETH 2436.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66