Salvadore Dali, an Imaginative Surrealist and Symbolist

in #art6 years ago

The-Persistence-of-Memory-1931-Salvador-Dali.jpg

'The Persistence of Memory', 1931, by Salvadore Dali

Learnodo Newtonic

The image above is one of Salvadore Dali's most famous paintings. It shows watches becoming so soft that they melt on to hard rocks. Dali never explained his work so you are free to interpret however you wish. I like to think of it as kind heart melting hard hearts.

Salvadore Dali was a Spanish artist who lived from 1904 to 1989. He was known for his over-the-top attitude to life. He always went the extra mile in his work and life.

This photo of him always makes me smile with its horrible tash and bulging eyes. What a comedian he was!

Dali was a Surrealist artist. He believed in allowing your imagination to take charge of your creations. He loved symbolism and used it widely in his paintings. Some examples he used were elephants with their legs collapsing to symbolise weightlessness and ants for decay and death.

Now I will show you some of my favourite paintings be Salvadore Dali.

'The Great Masturbator', 1929, by Salvadore Dali

Learnodo Newtonic

Dali painted this when he met Gala who became his wife. The yellow shape is thought to represent him sleeping and dreaming of Gala. I think it's fun and a good representation of how he felt.

'Galatea of the Spheres', 1952, by Salvador Dali

Learnodo Newtonic

Dali became obsessed with nuclear power and how it disintegrated atoms. This is my favourite painting from what he called his 'Nuclear Mysticism' period. For me, it sends its message without being too horrific.

'The Burning Giraffe', 1937, by Salvadore Dali

Learnodo Newtonic

A lot of people have interpreted this painting as being phallic but I don't see this. To me it's about the way war reflects on females.

To finish, I leave you with this image of Salvadore Dali at work:

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

Interesting artist
His stepmother was his aunt, Dali's father was a widower and married his wife's sister.

Unusual relationships, for sure :)

strange families.

This is a fascinating man, I would have loved to have talked to him about some of his amazing artwork. And what made him tick. A unique looking character, I bet he had a great sense of humor ! Terrific article again @deemarshall❣️

Hello Night Owl! Yes, it would have been cool to meet him. But I'd have to be on my best behaviour not to giggle at that tash :) Thank you for reading my article and giving me a vote. It's much appreciated.

One of my favourite artists of all time! :D

He was very imaginative :) Thank you for your comment and upvote which is much appreciated :)

Congratulations @deemarshall! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70910.93
ETH 3657.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76