Piet Mondrian - An Abstract Painter

in #art6 years ago

m2-vlies-non-woven-i37329.jpg

'Seamless Abstract Mosaic Pattern', circa 1940, by Piet Mondrian

posters.cz

I put the typical Mondrian image as the header to this article. I don't really appreciate this kind of abstract art but it's what Piet Mondrian was best known for.

Piet Mondrian lived from 1872 to 1944. He was known mainly for his abstract art. He also painted in the Cubist and Neoplastic styles amongst others.

He liked to use lines and blocks of primary colour, black and white. I find my eyes go funny looking at those rigid designs of his.

Mondrian was a Dutch artist who started studying drawing when he was 14. He was determined to be a painter and created traditional Dutch art until the early 1900's. Gradually his style changed with the fashions of the times but he still painted mostly landscapes.

In the 1940s he painted those rigid lines and rectangle drawings. He caught pneumonia in 1944 and died, leaving many unfinished works.

Now, I will show you some more of Mondrian's artwork.

'Farm Near Duivendrecht', 1916, by Piet Mondrian

Pinterest

I like the colours in this landscape. It's autumnal. I can see traces of the rigidity that Mondrian turned to later in his career in the tree branches. I spent ages trying to learn how to paint water reflections. He was good at it.

'The Gray Tree', 1911, by Piet Mondrian

Wikiart

I find this tree rather dismal. It reminds me of a spider web for some reason.

'Broadway Boogie Woogie', 1941, by P Mondrian

Pinterest

This painting was something of a climax to Mondrian's career. I find it interesting that he gave it an upbeat title. It is a shame for art that pneumonia got him.

I leave you with a photo of Piet Mondrian's Liverpool studio:

Have you visited the Steemit Art Centre? There are lots of cool artworks to see there. Follow this link:

https://steemit.com/artstorm/@deemarshall/22kp11-steemit-art-centre-monday-s-update

Why not enter my new guess the colour game? Follow this link to have a go:

https://steemit.com/colourstorm/@deemarshall/the-colourstorm-game-day-1-sister-to-artstorm

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

I’ve never heard of this artist, he was quite versatile in his paintings, he had a beautiful studio didn’t he? The design of the studio itself was a definite work of art. The different angels of the wall, it even looks as though he had a nice sky light, so he could paint with natural lighting. There’s nothing better than that. I love the painting of the farmhouse, that was my favorite. The trees are magnificent, the one in the background looks like a ball on a staff, so cool, you don’t see trees painted like that everyday. And your right, he’s reflections in the water are painted amazingly ❣️Bless you

The farmhouse is my fave too. Before I looked him up for this article, I thought he only painted those grids.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68779.72
ETH 3920.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64