Damien Hirst - The Wealthiest Living UK Artist

in #art6 years ago (edited)

'I Am Become Death, Shatterer of Worlds', 2006, by Damien Hirst

inhabitat

This is one of Damien Hirst's many circular artworks. This one is butterfly art, a subject close to my heart. I chose this one to head my post because I love the colours Hirst has used.

English artist, Damien Hirst was born in 1965. He is the UK's richest artist. His fame was at its height in the 1990s.

Damien Hirst often creates artworks on the theme of death. He made a famous series of models of dead animals in cases.

Always an innovator, Damien Hirst was the living first artist to sell a whole collection of his work by auction in 2008.

Damien Hirst thinks very differently to me. Here is one of his quotes: 'I think suicide is the most perfect thing you can do in life.'

Now I will show you some of Damien Hirst famous artworks.

'Mother and Child (Divided)', 1993, by Damien Hirst

Tate

Above is one of Hirst's dead animals preserved in a formaldehyde solution. Some of the creations he made this way rotted over time as he didn't preserve them properly.

'Beautiful Mickey Mouse', 2015, by Damien Hirst

Guy Hepner

I like Hirst's later work like the above image much more than the 1990's work. I think this one is fun and colourful.

'Temple', 2008, by Damien Hirst

Houghton Hall

Damien Hirst has an exhibition on till 15th July of some of his outdoor sculptures like the one above. Follow this link if you'd like to see more:

https://www.houghtonhall.com/art-and-exhibitions/damien-hirst/

I leave you with a photo of Damien Hirst in his studio.

Have you visited the Steemit Art Centre? There are lots of cool artworks to see there. Follow this link:

https://steemit.com/artstorm/@deemarshall/6smflm-steemit-art-centre-monday-s-update

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

Hi @deemarshall! Mr. Hirst seems like a very odd fellow, The butterfly 🦋 circular artwork was gorgeous! Where those real butterflies, preserved under glass ? At first, I thought it was a stained glass window! WOW AMAZING!! The giant outdoor sculpture is cool, it’s strange how all his pieces that you’ve shown don’t really look like the same artist. I can’t understand at all why he’s the wealthiest artist living in the UK. I guess it goes to show you “weird” sells❣️

His work sold so well in the 1990s. I don't think the butterflies were real but the cows were. I think he is a bit like Tracey Emin in that he likes to create a sensation and it sometimes looks ugly to me.
Thank you for visiting and upvoting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68988.65
ETH 3774.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43