You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Studio Visit March 9, 18

in #art6 years ago

This comment is older than Mt. Mazama, but then, no one ever accused me of being timely. I suppose late MAY be better than never. But I've finally had time to read your post. And I'm amazed at how varied and beautiful your art work is. The Dogwood Mosaic is gorgeous.

I enjoy your discussion about the monetary end of things in the art world. I am sure it is VERY common for artists to 'just want to do stuff to sell', when there is so much behind the actual ATTEMPT to make money doing it. I think I would be very much an example, if I was doing like work. Not really considering the real cost of doing business. The idea of it being fun, often trumps the idea of actually making it pencil out in the end. Sounds like you have a very good handle on this...which does seem so necessary.

Do you rent out the studio to students? Or other artists making a living? Seems that would be nice to have the income, but sometimes might be hard when in production mode. Or is it segregated into rooms? So many questions, so little time to answer with 50 irons in the natureofbeing fire of things. So no response really necessary, I'm just jabbering away here after my late night bike ride by the river tonight. Have a nice night, and all that good stuff. Ta'

Sort:  

sounds like a lovely thing to do - to take a late night river ride!! I so enjoy your comments by the way.

Interestingly, I was one of those artists who just sort of jumped in and then later thought, oh shit, I can't pay my bills!! Honestly, I'm good with money but also just more interested in making what I want to make and giving it all the time it really takes, so I often don't follow through on all of this great financial info I've gathered. It's tricky...I always want to put great work out there, but have to agree to do work that doesn't pay enough. So then what, do I not do as good a job? or just subsidize with my time? So far I've chosen the latter, but am sort of worn out from it. So...I'm really really trying now to just say no to projects that don't pay enough and say have the courage to insist on the real cost. That doens't really answer your question, guess I'm musing too, ha!!
Have a good night @ddschteinn, as always, it's a pleasure interacting with you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41