Painting: What I worked on todaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

dtx.jpg

On the left is how the painting was when I began to work on it this morning. I looked at the brick building in the middle and realized there were problems with it, and it basically needed to be completely repainted from the second floor on up. Sounds like a big task, and truthfully I wasn't considering it at first. But, after a few passes of paint, I noticed the shadows were where the highlights belonged! Pretty egregious error.

So, I mixed up enough brick color paint to cover the whole thing, then put the highlights and shadows in the right places. Then, I fixed the stone trim over the windows, and saw that there were many arches making up the facade. Lots of little arches. So I worked on that building for awhile, then needed to let it rest. The cornice on the building to the right of it has been bothering me. I didn't get the number of corbels or the shadows right, so I took another pass at fixing those.

It's really important to get some information down on the canvas that you can respond to. If you do nothing, how do you expect to build on it? And you have a decent shot of either being right, or close, and being able to see this once it's on the canvas. All that's left to do is leave it if it's good, or adjust it if it's not. So I adjusted the shadows and highlights on the cornice, and got the number right: 16. I think it looks better. Not done, but better.

Sort:  

WOW Fantastic painting, I always get jealous of those who can paint or sketch. The brickwork now looks softer and not so dominant, it blends in better IMO.

Thanks, what I did was replace a harsher black with a more appropriate dark brick color for the shadows. Thanks for noticing!

Holy crap. Your attention to detail is mind boggling. I mean that as a compliment. This is shaping up to be an amazing painting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I look at it and think that I wouldn’t know what to paint if not for the details I can see in the photos. Maybe it doesn’t help that I blow up the photos...

Congratulations @dbennett! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69380.97
ETH 3764.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86