"I Live With The Fae" (11x14 oil on panel) painting process and thoughts

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

This painting will always be a reminder for me to stop and feel appreciation. You'll read why in my musing below about....muses.

oil_portrait_87stagesteemthumb.jpg

The "bug" is a creature that has evolved over the years in many of my paintings. It started as a way to incorporate illustration and more imaginative elements into my work, and evolved into something more. It is called a Flrrbl. Or Flrrblz (plural). If you're so inclined, you can view this [almost complete] visual history of the Flrrbl in one loooong image of crops from many paintings: Visual History of Flrrbl.

Early stage:

oil_portrait_87stage01.jpg

Next stage:

oil_portrait_87stage02.jpg

And the finished painting, "I Live With The Fae" (11x14 oil on panel, 2015):

oil_portrait_87stagefinalfinal.jpg

I would like to remark on my wife's patience and clutch performance for this painting. On short notice, after finally getting a toddler and an infant to bed, she came down to the studio to participate in a 500-photo bubble gum blowing marathon. And so this painting was born. On some rare occasions a painting will flow from inception to completion with an ease and joy which surprises me, and this was one such painting. How and why does this happen? Some kind of magic. There is real magic and power and beauty all around me, and it does me good to be reminded of this. I need to open my eyes and take notice: My wife, who—among other things—directly made this painting possible and who created our children. My daughter, a beacon of joy, whose birth literally coincided with and perhaps precipitated the birth of my Flrrbl creatures. My son, a force of determination, 3 months old at the time of this painting. I live with the fae.

(Excerpt from my FIGURE book, page 16 )

oil_portrait_87stagesteemflrrbl.jpg

Thanks for reading! -David

sigbanner.jpg

My Website

My Instagram

Sort:  

You are master and this is real professional work. Happy to see new good artist here @davidcheifetz!

Awesome thank you very much!! 😁

Hello @davidcheifetz, I love your painting. It also made me "stop and feel" as well. Upvoted and followed! I also followed your instagram haha

I am a graphic design student and I just joined Steemit and posted my introduction couple of days ago. It would be an honor to have you come and check out my first post and possibly future posts and share your thoughts and advice!

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@soria.lee/introduction-soria-lee

Soria

Awesome thank you! And good intro, upvoted, yay miyazaki :)

Thank you for visiting my post! Hehe so you are his fan too

Amazing choice of color. Very bittersweet!

Wow...nice composition and colors ;-)

Thank you very much. Your stuff is great, looking forward to following you.

Thank you man. I'm glad to meet you!

Superb work David! Welcome to Steemit. =)
Upvoted and following.

Thank you! Great to be here. Likewise following you, awesome work!

Thanking you good sir! See you around the network. =)

This makes me want to dabble in oils again, to see if I have improved. I highly doubt it but this makes me want to try again. Absolutely stunning work. Resteemed so I never forget this particular piece.

Awesome thank you very much. Definitely dive back into oils. In my opinion oil paint is the most forgiving of all mediums, it just takes some getting used to. There is no limit to your ability to wipe out, scrape off, or paint over. You can take any risks or try new things because of this freedom. Go for it!

I'm going to do it! I need to stop making excuses not to. Haha.

Now that you have said this publicly, you have to post the evidence on Steemit. ;-)

awww snaps hahahaha

Beautiful picture! The colours are so vibrant and leapt out of the screen with life! :D

upvotes

Join us at Steem Artists, David~

When I found this picture, I know that you'll be appreciated there :D

I love the vintage look & feel. I also love when a painting falls into place- it IS magic! Very cool!

Awesome thank you!

Hi botrhers,,

Ho are you,

Upvote me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66547.84
ETH 3525.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54