"Dominion" (40x30 oil on panel) painting process

in #art6 years ago

Greetings Steemians and Artists,

Over the years I've found that in order to sustain momentum in my practice, I need to force myself into a state of constant learning. It's what makes this creativity thing interesting. So I try to break things: my methods, preconceptions, subject matter. At the time of this painting, my thing was to have several paintings in progress at the same time, something I'd never done before. So, in the midst of some tighter and smaller paintings, I followed the voice of the muse and went big with lots of paint.

still_life_295stagesteemitthumb.jpg

detail

The little 6x6 painting below from 2014 has stuck in my mind because of its simplicity and clarity. I decided to try a version of this theme again, but huge.

thegrape.jpg

"The Grape" (6x6, 2014)

Below is a 40in x 30in panel. After the loose layout I started by literally squeezing paint from the tube directly on the panel, and spreading it around with a knife. So liberating.

still_life_295stage01.jpg

See what I mean?:

still_life_295stage00.jpg

(Alkyd-based oil paint this time. I use alkyds in around half of my paintings.)

Next stage:

still_life_295stage03.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_295stage04.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_295stage05.jpg

Below are the knives I used to make this painting. Much larger than the type of knife I normally use. A big Liquitex and a Holbein MX no. 11 (my normal knife is Holbein MX no. 1)

still_life_295stage08.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_295stage06.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_295stage07.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_295stage09.jpg

Next stage:

still_life_295stage10.jpg

And the shine while applying the varnish:

still_life_295stage11.jpg

And the finished 40in x 30in painting, "Dominion" (oil on panel, 2016):

still_life_295stagefinal.jpg

"Dominion" is currently available at Gallery 1261 in Denver, CO

Thanks for reading! -David

sigbanner.jpg

My Website

My Instagram

Sort:  

Beautiful! I love all the color and light in this one ... :)

Just gorgeous! I love the Lumosity of this piece's focus. And the subtle hints of others in the background.

Thank you! 😁🙏

Simplicity sometimes has the most impact. Love the colours, they glow.

I thought you may enjoy this work by Elizabeth Riding.

Oh wow, pretty amazing!

waaw GREAT ART WORK! nice post 😊 happy Friday

Congratulations @davidcheifetz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

O, so beautiful! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62199.58
ETH 3014.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57