Births! "Flrrbl With Red Apples" (8x10 oil on panel) and creature development

in #art6 years ago

G'morning.
My wife's water broke when I was making the first sketches shown in this post. I got the phone call while sitting in the sunshine on our deck in September 2013, researching and drawing insects. (Sunshine...we lived in Palo Alto, CA at the time)

still_life_206stagesteemitthumb.jpg

detail closeup of a Flrrbl

I was creating what would eventually become my Flrrblz. My desire was to infuse my still life paintings with a purely imaginative "object". I've always been a fan of illustration. I decided to create my own bug. It began with some sketching of various critters from reference:

still_life_206stage00.jpg

still_life_206stage01.jpg

Now that I had some loose introduction to various critter anatomies, I began creating my own bug-thing (orthogonal views....ex-architect here):

still_life_206stage02.jpg

still_life_206stage03.jpg

Our daughter was born, and with her came all the ensuing joys, discoveries, worries, and groggy days of first-time parents. With the help of a handy little table-top easel, I was able to start mocking up the bug in paint while tending to paternal duties:

still_life_206stage04.jpg

Nana, a peer from my time at the Schuler School, gave me this little homemade cigar-box painting box, which I used as my palette below. Normally you can put a tiny panel or paper on that tilted surface. Very handy.

still_life_206stage05.jpg

still_life_206stage06.jpg

This one is good-natured and smiley.

still_life_206stage07.jpg

This one is extra glowy.

still_life_206stage08.jpg

Things become more refined against a light background:

still_life_206stage09.jpg

All this led to a first painting in the series, "Flrrbl With Red Apples" (8x10 oil on panel, 2013):

still_life_206stagefinal.jpg

Many more Flrrbl paintings came after, and I'll gradually be posting them here. Thanks for reading! -David

sigbanner.jpg

My Website

My Instagram

Sort:  

David, it's great that you have an outlet for your science fiction passion as well as your passion for art! These are very striking paintings for sure!

Thank you. Yep, I needed an outlet for sure :)

These are very nice David :) They almost have a steampunk/Metropolis kind of feel.

Awesome thanks! hmmm I should try a version that is really mechanical....

I suppose using some classic Masamune Shirow manga as reference material couldn't hurt? ;)

So good!! That is a brilliant idea :)

Awesome idea mate, I love how the final bug designs turned out. I also really like the pencil sketches, it looks like your a master at what you do... Everything is just perfectly executed.

Thank you very much :)

wow this is really fabulous work!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


Sounds great, thank you! 😁

looks great!! wow..

nice post!!

Thanks for sharing, David! it is pleasure to see how you interweave realism and fantasy in your paintings

Thank you, glad you like the interweaving :)

Actually I never did the real one, I mean with all that knits and needles :)

Beautiful work. And such adorable creatures. Well done!

Thank you very much!! :)

Itukan gambar kartun kakak

Google translate isn't making much sense with your comment. Can you post in english?

it's translation in aceh language .. not in google translation

Those Flrrbls sure are cute...even though I don't like bugs. You make a classic still life never boring.

Haha, awesome thank you!

Came here because @ocd recommendation. Your work is amazing! You have one more follower. Hope to see more from you.

Thank you very much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50