The First Time I Got Drunk & PaintedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

After I shared my first post about my wine & paint double date night, I thought I would show you my first wine & paint night painting so you could see how far I've come.

My best friend from college- she's a naturally talented artiste- came up with this wonderful idea that we attend a wine & paint night. I kept my standards for myself pretty low, so as to not be disappointed. We met for dinner at the Hop Cat, which serves award-winning "crack fries." Yes, that's what they're actually called and they do live up to their name.

After dinner we checked in and headed for the bar. It just so happened to be Wine Wednesday, meaning half-off all wine bottles. I bought a bottle of red and headed for the paint.

IMG_1850.JPG

This painting was a little more complicated than the second painting I did of the skyline, because this one had long lines that were supposed to be straight. We started with the clouds. Which as I said before, are more complicated to paint than they look. Mine didn't turn out as natural-looking and whispy as I'd hoped, but what can you do. The paint is already on the canvas!

IMG_1851.JPG

Next was the real challenge: painting the powerlines. It was very hard to paint clean lines with my paint brush. I think I had too much paint on my brush. Our teacher kept warning us to stop trying to correct lines because in the end you'll make them too thick. She was right. Also once you start swooping a line, you can't redirect it.

IMG_1853.JPG

And those damn birds... I practiced several times on the piece of paper on the table. One of the birds ended up looking like a pecker and I had to ask my teacher for help on how to fix it. Can you spot it?

IMG_1854.JPG

Sort:  

Wine does wonders! LOL!

It definitely made me feel talented that night! Haha!

I have never attempted to paint. I do love a good red wine. Maybe I will design something in adobe while having a bottle.

Third power line to the right, second bird?

Thanks for sharing. I look forward to your future posts.

I love a good red wine too. I switched from white to red and I don't think I'm ever going back! It's actually the fattest bird on the right hand side, second power line down. Almost half of them are questionable though...

Lol , a new experience indeed, but I never tried . Thanks for sharing your different experience with us :)

Nice to know that you can paint better with wine.

Good job and nice paintings.

@babitaghale

Thank you for your kind words!

OMG I love the colours you have used for the clouds! It's a sweet painting.. And no, I cannot spot the pecker, don't worry, at least from this distance. Do check out my sketch here, although it's more serene and not joyful as your painting 😅

Thank you for your kind words! Wow I am really impressed by your drawing. I love it! It sparks emotion.

Thanks a lot @cupofblonde :) I am glad you like it!

Thanks for sharing. I will follow ur future post.

Beautiful painting, @cupofblonde
You make it look simple. :)

Thank you! That's very nice of you to say :)

You are welcome. :)

that's the power of alcohol.

I love it. I absolutely love it! Well-deserved.

Wish I can find a place like this here in Manila. :)

Wow thank you! I so appreciate your kind words :)

You're welcome. Do post another as exquisite as this (ehen, next week) and let's see how far the rewards go. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92