Making Victorian Beaded Lampshades #art

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians. I'm curious about your level of interest in watching the creation of beaded Victorian lamp art? This is what I do in my spare time, and it takes about a month to create each piece . I'll be starting a new one soon and can take you through the entire creation process. Here's the current project that is underway, step by step:

  1. Select a desired antique or vintage lamp base. Easy to find on online auctions and antique stores.
    20170510_094423.jpg

2.) Select, buy and paint the wire frame for the lampshade.
20170703_195758.jpg

  1. Hand-dye gorgeous silk charmeuse to the desired color for the design. Next, remove the persistent cat from your silk!
    20170430_190915.jpg

4.) Wrap the wire and line your lampshade.
20170430_193406.jpg

5.) Sew your hand-dyed silk to the lampshade frame. Then, Try on a few
adornments and accessories like lace, netting, and antique textiles. Come to an arrangement you like? Sew it on!
20170430_185101.jpg

20170516_161233.jpg

6.) Dig through tons of beads, wracking your brain trying to artfully create a master strand that will be replicated 100+ times.
20170701_120813.jpg

7.) Start making hundreds of bead strands that will be sewn onto the lamp, creating a stunning effect as the strand-length follows the line of the lampshade.

20170706_200725.jpg

You're caught-up with me! Tonight, I will sew all of the strands onto the lamp, add the final trim to the shade, and will start paint-touch-up work. Would you like to see a picture of the finished piece?

Thanks for viewing!

Sort:  

Thanks for the beautiful pics. I think it is so cool that you are making victorian beaded lampshades. How fascinating. I love the picture of the cat sitting on your siIk. Aren't they just like that. I love the pattern you chose for the beading strands. You are cool, woman. Way to go. I for one would love to see the final version.

Hi @wecanbesublime! Thanks so much for viewing the post. I'l be finishing the lamp this weekend and I'll proudly post a pic of it! I'll post a couple of pictures of the others I have finished. Making art is so fun!!!!

Sorry @crystalize, been out of commission for a few days. Recovering still.

Hi @wecanbesublime! I finished the lamp today and posted pictures in a new blog. See the final version here:
https://steemit.com/art/@crystalize/textile-art-project-completed-today

Thanks, I'll go look at it right now!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57