Completed Project : Handmade Beaded Lamps!

in #art7 years ago

The Project

For this project, I scored a pair of Moe Bridges cast iron lamp bases in the Flora Bobeche style, from E bay. They are 11 inches high, and arrived with old scary wiring and a bit of rust. This style was popular in the early 1920's, and the lamps are still around (due to amazing quality construction) but pairs are difficult to find.

The Process

Upon inspection of the lamps, I knew immediately what shade shape I wanted to use. "Mini Crescents" are perfect for this shape and size of a lamp, and fortunately, I had a pair in the studio that I panted last summer. It is important to paint the wire frames as, a humid home can lead to wire rusting, which will bleed thought the silk over time.

Once I wrapped the painted frames with bias tape, and sewed on the creme colored lining, it was time to apply the first layer of hand-dyed silk charmeuse fabric. Brown is an incredibly difficult color to create using Procion dyes, but I managed to get to a color that can best be described as milk chocolate. I hand-sewed the silk onto the frames and went digging for gems in my studio for the next layer.

I scored a fantastic 1920's flapper dress from E bay (yes, I love E bay), in a nice dark silk chiffon. This beauty has Art Deco stylized beading, in black-lined clear glass. Because the dress is nearly 100 years old, it was incredibly delicate and difficult to sew onto the shade frames.

Next stop, trying stuff on. I have been collecting antique applique for awhile now and I wasn't quire sure how I wanted the faces of the shades to look. I finally decided upon light-colored appliques for dramatic effect, and I liked the fact that these particular appliques are from about the same era.

Here, you can see that the applique and a portion of the metal lace trim have been applied. Next step: Beads!

Oh, beads....the hardest part of the entire process. I have no idea why I struggle so much with designing a bead strand, but I surely do. I tried at least ten different combinations before I settled on the one I finally used. Here, you can see the process of creating and storing strands. I know it's probably funny, but I use the cardboard from Snapple boxes to store bead strands in sets of 10 so the strings don't get tangled up and make beads fly everywhere. Yes, I learned this the hard way.

Here's lamp one in the bead application process. After all of the bead strands are sewn on, I add the final bottom trim, paint the bases, and locate the perfect finials.

The Finished Product

Well enough of this process business! Let's look at the finished product!

Here's a peek at the back of the shade. Look a that amazing Art Deco pattern!

A nice close-up of the applique and one of the trims used.

A look at the hand-strung beads.

And finally... (drum roll please)...

The finished product! Dark chocolate by day, milk chocolate by night!

I hope you enjoyed walking through the process of my handmade art project! These took about two months to make, while working full time. Hope to see you on the next lamp!

Have a well lit night!

Sort:  

Wow! These are fabulous and so so creative! I wouldn't have thought to do that.

Thank you, @byn. Just a crazy hobby, and I have no idea what compels me to do this. LOL!

As long as it makes you happy, that's what matters! Thanks for sharing your art.

Amazing! What detail! You're giving me hope about all that cool stuff I've been hoarding :)

Thank you, @coyoteom! I am indeed hoarding some amazing antique textiles. The next one, which is green, will look like something straight out of the 17th century. So excited to share it with you!

Oh wow, these are so intricate! You have a lot of patience and a steady hand!

Followed and inspired. Living in Taiwan makes me appreciate tasteful lighting more than ever. Death to neon !

And florescent, right? LOL. Thanks so much for the kind words and for the follow, @hami!

Amazing, I'm so impressed, lamps are one of my favorite things! Especially this style.

Thank you so much, @voiceofnature! They are a lot of work but so much fun to have around the home.

These look awesome. I love the finished product. Well done.

Thank you, @choogirl! I really appreciate the feedback!

Congratulations @crystalize! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow! What an amazing project, such a beautiful final result! These are exquisite. The flapper dress fits in perfectly, and despite any struggles, the bead strands that you ended up with are a perfect compliment. Really, really impressed.

Cheers - Carl "Totally Not A Bot" Gnash




@carlgnash from the @humanbot Human Certified Original Works Initiative has manually determined this post to be the original and truly creative work of the post author.

Learn more:
https://steemit.com/curation/@carlgnash/what-human-certified-original-works-means-to-me-a-totally-unofficial-mission-statement-from-just-one-person-in-a-decentralized

Thanks for being an original and creative content creator! You rock!

Thank you, @humanbot! It is a labor of love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58085.08
ETH 2337.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37