Everybody needs some "Stinkin' Badges"!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

0813171416_HDR~2.jpg
Welcome to my studio! Today I begin on 5 new leather badge commissions. Each one is uniquely handmade to the client's exact specification.

STEP 1: Prepare blanks and stencils

  • I retrieved some cowhide shapes I had pre-cut prior to this project. Then I began the casing process to soften the leather for carving.

  • Meanwhile, I traced the outlines of the badge shapes and noted the requested letters and imagery.

  • Not shown: I become captivated by the person and their emblems, and spend uncounted hours researching images.

  • Experience has proven it is safer to prepare lettering stamps prior to any drawing. Lettering must be as large and easy to read as the wee 3-4 badges will allow. Lettering is an entire art unto itself. Its size, style, and orientation on the pictorial space can radically impact its meaning. In the photo above, I position the letter stamps for the word "COURAGE" on the paper outline.

FB_IMG_1502318929100.jpg Here is a badge I made to order for a mermaid afficianado nicknamed "Haha"

1109161155d.jpg Here is a large order for a group who provided me with their own line art. I made about 40 each of 3 designs

1229161301-1.jpg I made No DAPLE badges for donations to the Standing Rock cause last winter. Rather than collecting my $20 fee, I donated all proceeds to the tribe.

FB_IMG_1480617269596.jpg This original deadhead design displays my love of color

Thanks for viewing. I will keep you up to date on the progress of this latest group of five Stinkin' Badges.

I think they are my bestselling item because they are small talismans. They are likewise one of my favorite projects.

May you discover your personal Sigil and wear it as an emblem of strength.

Sort:  

Wow, that's so cool. Where id you learn making it?

Hi@helenril. So glad you stopped by!

I learned basic leatherwork back in the early '70s when my big brother was in boy scouts,

I only returned to the art maybe 4 years ago, I am so glad I retained the carving tools of my childhood to make things for folks today!

That's awesome to use a skill you learned a long time a go. Cheers

What beautiful art work you do @creationofcare! Stinkin Badges* that cracked me up lol, tho I just love the smell of leather it is a good stink :-) Back in the 70's is when I also learned some leather work, you inspire me to do that again tho its been many moons. Awesome you kept your tools, what a nice set!

Thanks so much, @shasta! Have fun, it is such an open-ended medium. It is also kind of primal, hitting things with a mallet. I am about to post the finished badges now. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58176.03
ETH 2475.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40