The Darker Side of @countryinspired - My Dark and Grotesque ArtworksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

I uncovered a plethora of drawings I created in 2009 while I sorted through boxes in our basement.

While I try to be a positive and fun Steemian, I must admit there has always been a darker side to me. A side that conjures disturbing images and ideas.

My taste for drawing disturbing and grotesque art dates back several years to when I was in grade school. I drew many images of death and ghastly creatures. My school teachers often saw my work, but never expressed any concern to my parents. The world was a different place back then. These days, children who draw such images are placed under close watch for fear of violent acts against others. I can honestly say that I never had any fantasies about committing violence. I simply expressed disturbing images in my art.

From the archives of @countryinspired's basement, shared first on Steemit, I present to you in a series of posts, My Dark and Grotesque Artwork!

The Walk

Ok, so this drawing isn't bad. Not all of them are gruesome. Just wait, though. Those are coming!

This drawing, done in pencil, depicts a solo figure making its way through the woods. A fog hovers over the ground, slightly obscuring the path ahead (or behind) the figure, depending on how you view it. Two other figures ominously lurk in the distance. They are either curiously observing the walking figure, or waiting for the right moment to attack.

A possible caption for this drawing:

Steve cautiously made his way through the woods. A fog had formed over the ground, completely hiding the path by which he had hiked in from the road. He could not perceive North from South, and his heart rate accelerated at the thought of being lost and alone. Or was he alone? He felt the uncomfortable sensation that he was being watched, even followed.

Sort:  

Lots of treasures in that basement of yours! I like it!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Hello @countryinspired
You have been added to @artlink, a place on Steemit dedicated to sharing and promoting new and aspiring artist on the platform just like yourself.
Read all about it here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62094.48
ETH 2416.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56