Art and "fuck the assignment, this is how I feel."

in #art6 years ago (edited)

It's a good thing that I was pursuing an art degree and not something in business/science because I don't think my rebellious attitude would have carried over well if I wrote whatever I wanted on a science term paper.
Actually, this happened in one of my gen-ed classes, where there was some weird grading system going on where instead of the professor having to read and grade all of our papers, we would instead pass them to the right and whoever that person was would read and grade them for a portion of our midterm grade.
I think I'm a pretty decent writer.
The girl I was sitting next to didn't and trashed my essay.
In return, the next paper that I wrote for her to read and score was a 12 page several thousand word long poem, in full meter and verse.
Okay, so maybe I was like the people who try to pay their parking tickets by handing a helpless city employee a bucket full of pennies.
But at the time, I was really feeling the need to assert my own independence and identity.
I guess going from a strict upbringing to the discipline of the military might have pushed me into delayed adolescent rebellion, but a lot of it was trying to come to terms with the overpowering emotions that PTSD and TBI were flooding my head with.
599321_10151875267715261_390456344_n.jpg
I accidentally stumbled across this picture from this time period and it illustrates my point perfectly.
My sister had flown out from California to visit, and we visited Milwaukee to attend Summerfest .
Before the concert we went to a "painting bar," which is a group painting class - with alcohol.
Recipe for fun right? OK let's look a little closer.
599321_10151875267715261_390456344_n.jpg
Okay, we DID have fun right after that at the concert, and I don't think my sister minded me taking the "fun" a bit too far since she's an artist too and has always supported my artwork.
Since you can't see in the picture, the little green blob about to get devoured at the center of that painting is a cross-legged meditating figure.
In my studio art classes, I made a habit of stretching the assignment as far as I could while still staying within the general guidelines.
Usually, my professors didn't care because I poured a lot of work into everything that I did and was good at participating in critiques and respecting the classroom space.
However, I ran into a problem in a black and white still-life class when i painted this, and ended up pissing off the professor and half the class.
war inside.jpg
I was having a bad day. I called this piece war inside war outside
Ironically, it kept coming back to haunt me because the online community I was sharing with at the time liked it better than most of my intensive work because of its raw emotion, even though it took probably 20 minutes to paint.
Having 8-10 hours of nightmares every night has a way of wearing you down.
I included the still life subject matter we were supposed to be painting, but used it to demonstrate how I was feeling: surrounded and penned in by emotions that felt overwhelming. I saw red.
At that time, I wasn't receiving any kind of effective counseling treatment.
As a matter of fact, I had been started off with a method of counseling that the VA was trying out on veterans with PTSD that was making it 10 times worse.
Since then, I have had counselors who have done a lot to help me, so this isn't a judgment of Veteran Affairs.
I actually re-painted the still life later. Behold war inside but you can't tell now boring outside boring boring
war inside 2.jpg

I was still doodling through all of my non-studio classes to keep the anxiety at bay, and this is the last of the "demonic" pieces.

2010-09-24_12-15-10_835_edit0.jpg

There's hope in it right? Michael the archangel can get out of this one?
Yeah, I don't think so.
Here are 3 more doodles from this time period.

2010-09-24_12-15-51_978_edit0.jpg
2010-09-24_12-16-31_647_edit0.jpg

2010-09-24_12-17-53_848-1_edit0.jpg

Do you have pencil, paper, and a thought in your head? Then you can cartoon!
Be sure to enter my weekly cartooning contest #cartoon-off. Otherwise, try to stop by and support the talented contributing cartoonists!
https://steemit.com/cartoon-off/@corpsvalues/first-weekly-cartoon-contest-cartoon-off

IMG_0556.jpg

Untitled_Artwork (3).jpg

Sort:  

I love that you're a complete art rebel and go at it in your own sweet way- and screw the rules... or at least skew the rules to make them work for you. I found your red black-and-white piece very powerful - but like you said, I guess this is because you poured yourself onto that canvas!

I'm so glad to hear that you have had some support that has been beneficial to you. Look forward to seeing more of your fantastic work. E x

Nice word play: "Screw or skew" maybe that should be a memo for me: "find a way to screw it or skew it."
Thanks for taking the time to read!

Haha! Always good to have a motto! E x

This one I strangely don’t agree with. It’s entirely emo. I’m sure you won’t take offence, and there are many that support.

I do agree with your online pals, the war inside war outside is my preferred. It’s the striking red. I love how you created emotion with a single colour. This is the kind of stuff I can never create. My brain is just not geared that way.

I’ll just admire you photo where you kinda look naughty and skip on along. :)

I really like the war inside war outside with the red background. It evokes emotions when I look at it. I'm not an artist but I think good art (whether painting, writing, movie) should evoke something in the person looking at it.

Thank you, @take5
Personally, I think everyone is an artist.
We all just show it in different ways.
Paper and canvas are not the only media which classify as art ;)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you I am honored!

i love your attitude, @corpsvalues :D so honest and so refreshing :D

also i think what you painted was great and unusual :D :D

i really like the giant creature thingy about to devour the crosslegged green person one, and i love the war inside war outside with the canvas in blood red, it is a very wonderful piece !

of course it remains really nice without the red.... also :>

and your sketches are really interesting, full with battles and infernal elements!

Thanks spider! I'm loving your work as well!

Hahaha, I swear if ever we become classmates, our professor would give up on us! I was rebellious in school too! (probably PTSD's definition is "Fuck you I'll do what I want") I was always late, always lazy to study and always passing mediocre works. Lol

If ever you're having mood swings you can chitchat with me on Discord, okay? :D

I like your PTSD definition =p and I'll be sure to chat with you if I get the chance: my Discord is Devil#5124

Everytime i have taken a painting class, i added my own flair of qhat i thought was right. Never have i once recreated something exactly, bc that nots not true artistry if you dont add your own creative flavor to your work. I eventually stopped going and now paint whatever i want from home. I enjoyed this piece and how your ptsd affects your work, i can relate to that. Keep up. Will follow.

"creative flow," I like that. I look forward to seeing what type of original flavors you share on your blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56691.97
ETH 2499.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23