Drawing tutorial / Tips on how to get basic drawing skills based on my own examples

in #art7 years ago (edited)

14DDB37D-E357-4BD4-B036-03B4F184BE3E.jpeg

Hello world! What’s up?
No matter what you draw and how long you’ve been drawing, there are no limits of perfection. We constantly improve our skills and develop our own style. We are all different: someone learns very fast and “feels” the process, proportions, color, someone needs drilling, mechanical repeated attempts to get needed shape or shade, but what we all need is constant practice.

In this connection I have some thoughts to share with you guys. They might be helpful if you are a beginner in drawing. Sorry for using some of the drawings that I already posted in my blog.

Let’s go:

– Don’t try everything at once and don’t try to draw difficult stuff at the beginning. It’s better to start with a pencil to be able to remove wrong lines and adjust their thickness. And it’s really easy to learn shading using pencil.
Try to use different instruments when you already have some skill, otherwise you might only discourage yourself from drawing. If you look at professional or academic pencil drawings, you will see how realistic they can be.

2E9642C7-8737-431E-BB4D-7354D2D5A762.jpeg

I drew this one several years ago, I used a pencil that time for the most of my drawings. It’s way too far from perfect, but good as an example of a beginner pencil drawing.

– Proportions and light. No matter what you draw, there are some general things that you should follow. Proportions is the first and foremost thing if you want your art look realistic, especially if you draw portraits. Sometimes even a tiny little wrinkle drawn wrong makes your portrait look different from the original. Light is the second important thing. You need to take into consideration the source of light, because it reveals the peculiarities of the face (or whatever you draw).

F0207020-28C2-4A1F-930F-898EC5091482.jpeg

In this case the light falls directly on the dude’s face, but the source of light is slightly moved to the right, so you can see his left eye in the shadow from the hair.

– If you draw animals and you want your drawing to be realistic, consider the growth of hair. Don’t outline the contours of the animal with well-defined lines. Realistic animal drawing requires that you draw hair and it determines the shape. It’s really time consuming, I don’t really like it. Anyways, I’ve drawn this one:

DF8631E3-0D89-411E-ACEF-C555CF14830C.jpeg

– Draw ALL THE TIME and EVERYTHING you see. To my mind this is the most important piece of advice if you want to draw well. Now I don’t have much free time, but earlier I drew when I had even a free minute. It looked really awkward when I came to a cafe and every time drew strangers at the table next to mine.

Of course, you cannot make a perfect highly realistic drawing on your knee, but don’t chase perfection. Don’t be afraid to make it rough. Every drawing is practice.

6F833B5B-4C6F-4F44-A962-3E848D466BB3.jpeg

This is the drawing of my son that I made while waiting for my wife near the fitting room. It was not intended to be a real drawing, I had only some waste paper and a pen with me, so it was just for fun and to kill 10 minutes. And of course it’s practice.

These are actually obvious things, but typically obvious things is the last thing we think of.

I hope the post was helpful and you enjoyed it!

If you liked that, feel free to comment and follow, don’t hesitate to upvote or even resteem:)

Sincerely yours,
Anton

Sort:  

please draw crash bandicut

Haha why him? But no problem:)

I love this - great advice. I'm rarely without a sketchbook in my hand or backpack. have stacks of them in my closet from years of drawing, drawing, drawing - they are an artist's diary. So glad I found your post and look forward to following you!

Thank you, @mikedaily.net! Your pictures are awesome! Following you

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cookiespooky from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

your work is fantastic, I always enjoy seeing your post C=

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Thanks! I like your art as well! Following you:)

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


I accept, thank you!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45