11th ARTstyleART Challenge: Pop Art Portrait of Scarlett Johansson

in #art7 years ago

final cropped.jpg

Hi everyone...it's been awhile. The first thing I saw when I logged in to Steemit this morning was a post about @lauralemons . Laura committed suicide yesterday after battling an illness and going through some challenges in life. I have been Laura's followers since June when I start to blog here on Steemit. I am so sorry that she had to do this but I guess she had her reasons :(. I will surely miss her posts.

Back to the purpose of this post.

Here is my submission for 11th ARTstyleART. The theme for this week is Pop art + Portrait of a Famous Person. I am thrilled because pop art and portrait is my specialty.

I decided to make a stencil portrait of Scarlett Johansson. Why Scarlett?

In 2001 I read a novel by Tracy Chevalier called Girl with a Pearl Earring. The novel was inspired by Dutch painter Johannes Vermeer's painting Girl with a Pearl Earring. I fell in love with Vermeer's paintings and he had been my favorite artist until now. In 2003 the novel was adapted into a movie and Scarlett was the main cast. I never watched the movie though but I loved the book! I hope to read it again someday.

My reference photo was taken from the front cover of Marie Claire's March issue. Here is the manipulated image and the base of my stencil.

2.jpg

I have been so busy lately and frankly, I have very limited time to complete this painting. Initially, I wanted to use a bigger paper to work on and use acrylic as the medium but it was going to take longer to complete. So I opted to use A4 size paper and markers instead. I am not very pleased with the result and if the deadline is extended I will probably make another painting.

So here are the progress photos:

Category: painting / Medium: markers

1.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

final (2).jpg

What do you think of this painting? Leave your comment below. Thank you!

shop logo.png

Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship

Sort:  

I like the part where her eyes has colours

Oooo nice.... Creative!

Thank you very much @zord189 =)

wow nice drawing and coloring.. keep up the good work!! cheers! =D

nice! i always liked Scar-Jo! RIP to the steemian too... sad she's no longer with us.

Thank you! The news of her passing was devastating for a lot of Steemian. I have been reading her journey and she was very transparent about her struggles.

Wow......just wow. Im going to show my daughter your creations. She loves art too. Thanks for sharing.

Hey thank you for the kind words @francesaw :) ... does she draw too?

Hello there,
Very beautiful entry.
I am also a self taught artist.
Follow you for your future work.

Have a Nice day ...

Thank you @motivator . I am giving you a follow too.

You are gifted and talented. This painting is so creative.

You are most welcome my friend.

Congratulations @coloringiship! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Superb ! Amazingly awesome! I am no artist but I swear looking at your painting made me wish I was born an artist too... hmmm... no artist blood in my family 😔😔😔

Thank you @gorgeousgran ... you definitely can do this...talent is only 1%. The rest is determination and lots and lots of practice 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33