Original Art - The Coopers's Jug - Acrylic on A4 Board Backed Canvas - Kitchen Decoration

in #art7 years ago

The Cooper's Jug

Part of a series I am planning with decoration of a kitchen in mind.

Here is the sequence.

1.  I saw an antiques show on television, which featured a number of farmhouse antiques. One of which was a wooden jug or pitcher. The main structure was similar to a barrel, with three bands of iron, and a wooden lip. Here I am marking out the general features I recall. I am not sure what the handle looked like, or whether it was made of wood or metal.


2. Adding the "barrel" detail.


3. Thinking about the texture. In particular how much patina should be featured on the metal, and wear on the wood.


4. I have a pretty good feel for the metal now, time to think more about the wood. Should it be oak, or pine textured.


5. Brushing on some texture, and adding some colour to get a better sense of what will work. A metallic handle will probably work best.


6. Beginning to add depth and texture. Working on the handle.


7. Layering texture and detail. Decided to go for a pine like wood, and a copper texture to to metal.


8. Pretty much complete in form and texture. Time to begin filling in the detail and produce a refined finish.


9. Stopped at a mat "painterly" finish. I could continue now with slowly layering the paint to produce a photorealistic effect. That, however, would be counter productive to the final effect desired.


Hope you found the above sequence, and the painting, interesting. This was more about colour schemes, and producing a painting to fit a country kitchen wooden surface setting. That is to say, more about design than art.


ColdMonkey likes to mine Gridcoin through contributing to BOINC voluntary computations for science...

Help scientific research, and mine some coin at the same time - find out more at Gridcoin.us

Sort:  

The final piece looks almost like it was digitally created. Strange affect you are getting there. Nice.

Very interesting, for me! Beautiful painting and useful sequence, thanks for share ^_^

Amazing!:) As always!=)

Hey. I love this. I would love to know a bit more about your technique in this. It looks like cross hatching with paint?? Are using pens?

I should have added more explanation. I usually start with an on canvas sketch using soluble pencil for setting out the proportions. Then I build on that with thin brushwork to develop an image, and obtain a sense of shadow and depth. Later I build up to a complete image in accordance with desired effect, photorealistic, painterly, or whatever. I have largely abandoned photorealistic as people always think its a photographic filter effect if the paint is not evident.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41