Burning the midnight acrylic - Dreamworld!

in #art7 years ago

Swirling 'round the fire of life, we can't stop dreaming of different moons and new worlds.
Deep freeze season calls for creative hibernation, flex the imaginative muscles and make magic!



A few months ago I grabbed an old canvas from Value Village (thrift shop) that had a print on it. I like the pallet, warm oranges and browns. Me and my crew had a debate whether to cover it all up and start from scratch, or use elements from the work underneath.

I chose to compromise, and covered most of the painting but selected a few portions which served my vision (which was still unclear).
Here's the start I made a while back - it's upside down, but it was a boat on a river through an Italian-esque village. Serene, but not what I was wanting!

and further covering

I loved the flow so much, so I decided to bring it into my studio last night to spruce up. I discovered some interesting things hiding... Here we go!


First move was to bring in some objects, and define the edges more, deeper colors and definitely more red!

Then, more flow by using pastel scribbles - I've been honing my scribble skills since I was born (just like you!)


I then work on the other side, zipping up some broken bits and adding texture. Some parts of this painting are okay to leave open-ended, it let's the mind wonder.

Cyan, tourquoise, and orange - some of my favorite colors to put together. Vector style shapes up top leaning down into a ridge of some sort - all very energetic!

Working some hot yellows into the deep blue, shapes and slices of form, I love this part!

Floors and surfaces are important to establish - I etch in some lines to give the impression of rectangular holes on the ground. Will work on these later to give more definition, for sure!

More definition, a few blobs of blue and red, and establishing some steps, maybe a mountain side? Who knows anymore haha!


Through the free flowing meditative practice that some call "painting," I ended up with this record of my dreams.

I am always very moved by the feeling of manifesting things that were once in your mind, into reality for others to enjoy. Thank you for joining me, spread love!

-claritypavilion

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.91 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 10 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

You're brilliant. When I see such pictures I just can say "Wow, HOW? How did he put all this expression in there?"

hehe thanks inber, it's really just learning to let the mind wander - our brains are infinitely expressive!

Hands not often are:) I tryed to paint abstract art only once, and I akted like Pollock, with no brush of painting knife. But when I try to do something with brushes - nothing happens. I begin thinking about the lines, colours ect. And it's not abstract anymore. And it's kinf of creepy, cause I'd love to put some abstract art to the walls of my bedroom, and just can't create it:)

The lines and colors can go whichever way you feel, abstract can incorporate real objects as well. If that's what your mind comes up with, why replace it with something else?
But if you really do just want to paint expressive nothingness, remember the feeling of being a kid and scribbling around with crayons or markers. Just go crazy and try to focus on the FEELING, rather than the RESULT. :)

This is beautiful!

Very surreal images, thanks for sharing them @claritypavilion. Nice work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68887.40
ETH 3743.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67