Weimaraner Puppies Original Oil Painting

in #art7 years ago

One of my most recent commissions that my client received last week was easily my most challenging pet portraits to date. It was an opportunity to paint several of the cutest weimaraner puppies ever, though. The original photo that I used as my reference had a flash, so it was difficult to paint it with a softer light and to take out the glow from the eyes while maintaining likeness. I also had to paint in one of the puppy's paws since it was cut off in the camera frame, and the composition just wasn't having it without it.

IMG 8312 Pups WEB.jpg

24"x30", oil on canvas

Here is my original reference:

Original Reference_Hunter2.jpg

It was certainly a piece that I learned a lot while painting, so I can't ask for too much more. This client also had me paint another litter that another one of her puppies comes from a couple of years ago. I feel like I've improved a great deal. Here's that one:

IMG 7616 Puppies WEB.jpg

24"x30", acrylic + oil on canvas

What do you think?

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Sort:  

good information @christiesnelson .. you are always publishing good post....

Lovely photo @christiesnelson Merry Christmas to you and your family

Thank you!! You too!! <3

I want Upvote my post for Christmas @christiesnelson <3

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


Sure! Glad you like it! Thanks!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62701.63
ETH 2445.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67