Time-lapse of 30 paintings in 1min 41sec

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Last year I painted 120 paintings (yes, I know I'm crazy). I don't always have the patience or time, but I captured a number of them using a stop-motion time-lapse. It's a good insight in how I work, particularly with layers of color. I'd love to know which is your favorite!

Enjoy!
-Christie-

Sort:  

Love this @christiesnelson, this is a really awesome way to show your artwork! It's really cool to see the progression of a painting and I think the handful of frames for each photo does that so well. You are a very talented painter, I can't really pick a favorite though. I like the landscape paintings personally but the portraits and pet paintings are fantastic too! Seems like you do commissions for pet owners/lovers? I'm sure they absolutely love your paintings :)

Thanks so much! I used to be on the app Vine, and it made it pretty simple to make them that way. Plus I loved sharing them with the community there. And yes! I paint a number of commissioned pets! I'm usually working on a few at a time. Three cats at the moment! It's really a great honor to be able to provide a special keepsake.

Wow, amazing talent! I love your use of colors. I really like all the paintings, but I think the second one is my favorite. What kind of paint do you work with?

Thank you! Color is the reason I paint. I almost always use acrylics first and finish with oils.

Aaahh thanks! Painting can be so relaxing huh? Almost like meditating.

Awesome :) I love all of them. They're all unique in their own right. Great to see artists here on Steemit.

Thank you! There's a number of artists growing a community here and it's awesome! :)

From a fellow artist, those are amazing! Being a cat lover, I'd have to say I like the cat ones best! :) Following!

Thank you!! I love painting the cats!!

Love this! I am always blown away by how paintings change with layers and how it all comes in to have the final product. Resteemed

Thank you! I love watching process too. So many different ways to approach.

Love it! There's so many good ones It's hard to pick one. What's the song at 1:20?

Thank you! I couldn't tell you to be honest. I made all of these through Vine and a lot of the songs were out of the app. Sorry!

I like the guy playing guitar in the woods, and the floating chair in the snowy woods

Awesome! Thank you for the feedback!!

Absolutely brilliant! Love your work. I wish that I had a fraction of your talent. I love to paint, but sadly my work is terrible. lol upvoted and followed

I paint landscapes generally, so the one that really stood out to me is the wooded scene with the rocking chair as the focus point. Very cool!

Thank you so much! I thought my work was terrible when I first started too. You get better with practice and become more of your own! I haven't counted in a while, but I think I'm up to about 600 paintings.

That rocking chair one, called "Embrace the Mystery," I did in 2014 and reflects a certain turning point in my life and will forever be a favorite! I animated it into a gif last year:

Yes, I certainly need to practice more. Thank you for sharing the title and gif. I can understand why it is a favorite of yours. I look forward to seeing more of your work. Maybe one day, I will get the courage to share one of my paintings here.

You totally should!!

Wow .... amazing!

fantastic! amazing work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.05
ETH 2955.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13