Henry - Saying Goodbye to a Painting from 2013

in #art6 years ago (edited)

The year of 2013, I was in the mode of starting and finishing a painting in one night. I had just graduated so I had these skills and knowledge I acquired and couldn't get enough of painting whatever I wanted, no guidelines or restrictions. I was living next to the separate garage on my dad's property figuring out my next move, so I also had the luxury of being free from the worry or making rent as well.

I got a little ambitious one night with a big 36"x48" canvas I got on super sale. I was also just dipping my toes in social media and started posting artwork on Instagram for the first time. I was using the people I was meeting as inspiration for my work. I saw this photo by photographer Billy Sukoski and immediately knew I had to paint it. The model ended up being another talented photographer that I befriended and collaborated with as well, Henry Bruington, and the painting landed into my "Humans of Social Media" project I was working on at the time. They were both excited for me to translate it into a painting, and I was so overjoyed to have permission to get painting!

Henry Squirt.JPG

Original photo by Billy Sukoski

I started the underpainting in the afternoon and knew it was on. Painting it was everything I wanted it to be. I picked this photo because I wanted to paint the glasses and the shadows cast from them, his mustache, the embroidery and folds in his shirt, and the Squirt can. And those colorssss!

underpainting _henry.jpg

And I worked through the night. Back then I did this almost every night. I still go on late night painting binges when I'll paint basically non-stop for 12-14 hours often greeting the sun. The focus of the night helps me slip into a great flow state.

1382964_10200892669581383_1461206858_n.jpg

Final...

Henry.jpg

Detail...

detail.jpg

While I love this painting and parts of this detail shot, I can definitely tell my perfectionism has gotten the best of me now and also why I don't call a painting finished after one night. I've also gotten better at hands after painting a whole solo show of them in 2015. I'll have to write a post about that one!!

rsvpaint 2014.jpeg
"Henry" on display at RSVPaint, 2014

This painting had been hanging alongside "Strawberry Martini," the painting that I shared the other day also at 417 Taphouse. Last month, one of the owners informed me that it sold and I had a check waiting! Selling a painting is one of the best feelings knowing that it connected with someone, and I hope the new owners enjoy Henry and bring a bit of fun and color to their everyday lives.

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Sort:  

Hello @christiesnelson, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you thank you!! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93