Painting Inspired by a Bobcat Skin

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

dillon in progress.jpg

One of my buddies played in a rock band that dressed up for Halloween in 2013 for a show and donned a bobcat skin as a hat. After coming out of my "False Perceptions" series about unique individuals, my brain was still turned to finding interesting props and suitable models. I promptly asked if he would be interested in meeting up so I could take some photos for a new piece. I was so excited he accepted because I couldn't stop thinking about painting that bobcat skin. I was then working on a few pieces I called "Conversations After a Drink," the sequel to these paintings that explored the notion of getting to know someone after making those quick judgments that are so easy to make. So I had him make a drink and dress up for me. Thanks, Dillon!

IMG_9687.JPG

IMG_9683.JPG

Then to get to work!

painting dillon.jpg

At the time I had just graduated with a fine art degree and wasn't exactly sure what I was going to do with my life, so I moved in with my dad and lived and worked out in this space next to his garage. He lived out in the middle of nowhere on some property. It was one of the most inspiring and productive places I've worked even if I did most of my painting on the floor in the living space.

studio_dads cabin.jpg

The Final...

Dillon.jpg

Strawberry Martini | 24"x36" | oil on canvas

Details...

Dillons Head Detail.jpg

Painting that bobcat skin was everything I imagined. So fun! I kinda want to see how well I could paint it now!

Martini Detail.jpg

This painting stayed with me for awhile. It moved with me to my next studio at my workplace (RSVPaint, one of those paint party places) and also got to hang it with some of my other portraits in the same vein in their gallery.

studio_portraits_rsvpaint.jpg

may 2014_mother daughter show rsvpaint.jpg

May 2014

It now resides at the same local taphouse that "Harvard Graduate" (the painting I shared yesterday) is displayed. It certainly gets a lot of attention, and I love receiving photos of people with it. I even received an MS Paint version of it from a taphouse patron last year. So fun and flattering!

dillon delfie.jpg

ms paint version_taphouse.jpg

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Sort:  

You've received an upvote from @slothicorn! Click Here to Learn More
(@ghulammujtaba)

Awesome stuff, @christiesnelson, loved your paintings.

Just wondering, who's that guy in the last picture?

Thank you so much! And thanks for sharing! I actually don't know who it is! It was sent to me by a supposed doppleganger of the painting, and his friend is the one in the photo who found it. Cool hat, huh? :)

Hello @christiesnelson, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Awesome! Thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80