Fictional Landscape Paintings: An Endeavor to Push Creativity & Evoke Emotion {plus animations}

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I initially fell for painting because I loved the process of recreating an image. Photorealism was my objective, and the act was therapy. A couple of years ago, however, it simply wasn't feeding my artistic soul anymore. Many artists can copy a photo, but what really interested me was diving into my creative brain and pulling out ideas that did not exist in the real world. I was tired of being scared of painting without a reference, so I exited my comfort zone to learn more and to push my abilities.

I've talked to many artists that begin painting without a plan or an objective and let the process speak to them. Something equally intriguing and terrifying to me. One evening I gathered the courage to simply start doodling with paint, and I was surprised with the outcome and immensely enjoyed myself. I began with thinned oil paint and pulled out the forms the uneven paint presented. I kept building details and colors while keeping the structure fairly simple so my brain could keep up. This is what I came up with:

Flux_Christie Snelson.jpg

Flux, 12x16, oil on canvas

At the time, I was very interested in creating more of a feeling more than a narrative. Imagery that was haunting but comfortable was not only appealing but also very relatable at a time in my life that I was especially uncertain as I transitioned in my worldly beliefs.

Cosmicscape2_Christie Snelson.jpg

Expansion, 12x16, oil on canvas

I focused on composition, structure, and color. After my first piece, these became a bit easier to find the frameworks and create these environments I called "cosmicscapes," feeling like they weren't of this world. The swirls were very indicative of how I felt during this tumultuous transition in my life.

Pulse_Christie Snelson.jpg
Pulse, 11x14, oil on canvas

From there, I tried a couple other variations that tied in my previous series, Roots, by painting trees to keep in theme with these eerie yet beautiful landscapes. These are a couple of my favorites of all time now:

Cosmicscape_Floating Spheres Forest_Christie Snelson.jpg

Suspension of Reality, 12x12, oil on canvas

Cosmiscape Forest_Christie Snelson.jpg

Allure, 12x16, oil on canvas

I painted "Allure" larger and omitted the black hole because it didn't quite work with the new scale. It now is a permanent installation in my living room :)

Allure_Final_Christie Snelson copy.jpg

Allure, 24x36, acrylic + oil on canvas

I also took several of these images and created animated GIFs of them to present them in a new way. Enjoy :)

Thanks for looking!

christie snelson sized copy.jpg

www.christiesnelson.com

Sort:  

These are awesome! I am a big fan of alien landscapes. Pulse is probably my favorite , I love that you can see stars lower than the horizon line through the hole. Love the shapes in that one, kind of tongue-like. These are all awesome though. The gifs are cool :) Much love - Carl

Thanks, Carl! Glad you like them! I've been thinking about revisiting these places for a little bit. Pulse was my favorite as far as the shapes, but the colors were a bit off for my taste. It's been on my to-do list to change it up forever. I even PhotoShopped it to see it in another color scheme after I painted it. What do you think of this in comparison?

Pulse colorized.jpg

Interesting :) I actually like the colors of the original, more "fleshy" - but this is nice as well, has more of a cold alien world feel.

They definitely have different feels for sure! I like the "fleshy" interpretation! One of my friends said it was like "taffy" and I can't get that out of my head lol. Your version is awesome!! Makes the colors more rich, looks like stained glass!

Try this on for size :)
pulse dream.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63927.21
ETH 2754.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65