My Gel Pen Art w/ Drawing Process: The Paradox of Death

in #art6 years ago (edited)

The Paradox of Death

IMG_20180215_074056.jpg

This is my entry for the art contest with a theme 'paradox' hosted by @topkpop.

Death is a paradox. It takes away life, but it also gives life - eternal life. I cannot dwell on this idea further because I am not an expert of religion and the like. However, paradoxically, I will exhaust myself to pour out what I know, even if I do not really know.

LIFE STARTS IN THE WOMB

Life starts in the conception. It is when a mother carries another life in her womb. Since I was born in the lovely month of February, that means I was conceived by my mother on a May. Check out when you were conceived.
65e4aeca61f699478b43bb8cd271c0fb.jpg

Image Source

LIFE ENDS IN THE TOMB

Death is our truest destiny. All of us will face it - whether young or old, rich or poor, healthy or sick. People die, period. It is only a matter of when and how. You may check my previous post about the concepts of death here.

There is life after death.

As a Christian, I believe that there is life after death. That I can have the joys in the heaven or the suffering in the hell. My life on earth determines my life after death.
843db03a3bcdb64cea12b61128163a68.jpg

Image Source

The Drawing Process

IMG_20180214_175031.jpg
I sketched first the outline of the skull using a pencil on a vellumm board. This lines would be used as guide lines later.

IMG_20180214_175250.jpg
Then, I used a gel pen from Titus to color this skull.

received_2059708824273519.gif
Next, I did the coloring process. I used many colors to emphasize that death is colorful. Death should not be feared because there is still life after it.

IMG_20180215_075721.jpg
Now, here is the final output.


Thank you so much for reaching this far. I hope you liked it. Tell me your thoughts in the comment section below. And please do not forget to upvote if you liked it.

~ Christian Yocte

Sort:  

Nice work, the colours are real cool! Thanks for sharing steps :D

Thanks for dropping by as well. I am happy you like it. Titus gel pens are really nice :)

Really cool, what you did here! Your drawing came out nice. How did you do the stop motion vid, Christian?

Hi, good morning, Gail! 😊😊😊
I used an gif application from the play store. I have a screenshot of the icon🐱😂😄😄 Screenshot_20180215_082657.png

Oh, nice! Thanks, Christian. Keep it up!

If you are interested, I am curating art made by steemians and yours would make a great addition. If you use the hashtag #ArtistOfSteemit on a post, I will repost it, credit you, and give you the sbd earned. If you're not interested, still feel free to follow to support your fellow artists! thanks x

Expect my next post with that tag. Thanks for dropping by here. See you around :)

I have a similar pens, only they are liners : )

Ow, thank you for visiting here. Actually, it is my first time to use these gel pens and this brand. But I guess I used it wrongly because this drawing used a lot of ink for one drawing only. But, i am still happy because I love the final output. :)

Again, thank you so much @yurche for being here. It is such an honor. :)

Excellent work, I like the fact you took the time to document your progression. It really gives it life and shows your thought process as you draw it.

Wow thank you so much. The time i spent in it really paid off through your positive comments.

Really is amazing i gave you upvote in the contest and a little statement as well! I really enjoy it when the artist spends the time to show how it is created. Have a wonderful night.

Thank you. Its still 12:50 noon in the Philippines. And its my birthday today. Haahhahhah

Have an amazing birthday then! I hope you get to enjoy some fun with friends and get to treat yourself to something nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88