"Zinnias"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Painted in my Taos garden.

”Zinnias” 22”x24” (#777) oil on linen canvas
by Lee Gordon Seebach

Whenever I have a garden, I plant zinnias. Not only do I enjoy seeing them, I also enjoy painting them. I especially like giant zinnias. They look like an explosion of color, like fireworks!

Working on a large watercolor of Canyon de Chelley in my new studio near Artesia, New Mexico.

My website: Seebach Fine Art


Sort:  

Well.. actually?? they look like little fireworks!)
You have a good color flow there!

This looks pretty beautiful @chessmonster.

@artguy Glad you like it!

Beautiful Painting Sir.

Those leaves are amazing!

Thanks so much @siloe !

Have you considered doing a video? I guess a lot of people would like to see how an artwork actually becomes alive step by step. (Alive is the keyword in this painting for me, it looks real in some way)

@steemboys Yes, I've done several. I'll reply with a link in a few minutes (below). Thanks for asking! :)

Alright thanks, found them already on your website. !Its impressive,because i had no idea that there is so much preparation (foto, idea, pencilstrokes, grid, thoughts on the afterwards design). My imagination was a lot more simple, just based on the final paintings. I do like that the very wide term "art" does actually rely on measurable skills. Actually, i might start painting , at least try it, mostly because the journey to become a good painter might be as interesting as the final designs and "creating" as well as thinking in "projects" is something i value high. Thanks for the inspiration!

You're very welcome and thank YOU for your thoughtful response. I was just thinking a few minutes ago - while sitting here studying one of my watercolors - how much more creative thinking goes into my work than "brush time!" Hours of thought + a few minutes moving the brush (total) = one painting.

I really like the use of different brushstrokes as texture in this piece. This is a very lovely and lively painting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59700.98
ETH 2415.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43