"Oak Creek"

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Painted on location on the banks of Oak Creek north of Sedona, Arizona.

”Oak Creek” 20"x22"” (#2058) oil on linen canvas
by Lee Gordon Seebach
(Corporate art collection, Los Angeles, California)


Alla Prima (First Attempt)


Many people have the idea that the only way oil painters paint is in layers, allowing each to dry before proceeding. This is, of course, one way to do it and many artists work that way. (Those painters often mix drying liquid with their paint to speed up drying.) The layman finds it difficult to understand how an artist could work in any other way.

However, there is another way, and it's to work wet-in-wet, also known as Alla Prima, and is how almost all of my oils have been painted. Very seldom do I allow any part of a painting to dry before I complete it. The primary exception would be thin turpentine washes which dry very quickly.

Wet paint allows for blending, and where colors meet, the paint can be applied either into or on top of the one already on the canvas. When this is done with deft brushstrokes, the result will be a clean, fresh rendering.

For "Oak Creek," by painting accurately - putting the right colors in the right places - I completed each area as I went along, starting with the central area and working outward. Everything else is either drybrush work or turpentine washes or left to the imagination, creating almost a vignette piece.

For those who like everything "explained," this painting probably looks unfinished. But for me and others who often like things suggested, there's a charm to a sketchy oil such as this.

"The most precious thing in life is its uncertainty. Leaving something incomplete makes it interesting and gives one the feeling that there is room for growth."
Tsurezuregusa (Essays in Idleness) - Yoshida Kenko

I hope you enjoy seeing this oil.

Have an awesomely magnificent day today and every day!
Liberty 😀 Peace ☮️ Love ❤️


My Jayco trailer, Ford truck, studio, and a beautiful New Mexico sunset....



Creating another pretty picture for my art collectors.

My website: Seebach Fine Art

Sort:  

Hello @chessmonster
This story made it to the ღ #steempearls of @tabea . Check it out at https://steemit.com/steempearls/@tabea/steempearls-14

Brilliant paintings!!!

@tabea Thank you!

Thanks for sharing valuable information sir.
Have a Nice Day ...
:)

No charge. LOL You're welcome.

Do you create every day a new painting? would be intersting to hear how many hours you need to put in when you reach such a high level.

@trap90 I don't know how many hours but I do know that four years of professional art school plus decades of practice, study, and experience go into each painting. You just have to be dedicated and serious like any other discipline and pay the price.

You have a great talent and creativity man, beautiful Neighborhood. Thanks for sharing that piece of art

Very Nice Painting Sir.

@being-human Nice of you to say so, and thanks for your comment.

Oh i see why that felt different from your earlier paintings.
Something with colors gives this amazing feeling.. brightness adjustment, especially on leaves!
I admire your passion for art.

I've done some experimenting with different approaches. In fact, a subject often suggests a particular treatment. Thanks for commenting @yaan

Another beautiful painting! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks so much @saikababii ! So glad to have my blog on Steemit..I love it.

Very nice picture :) the shadows give good depth.

Good observation. Thanks @eggmeister

Thank you. I wanted to try harder than the usual clichés lol.
Any hoo, it's a picture I would be very happy to have displayed on my wall.

Gorgeous painting again, man. I find it pretty interesting you use that wet on wet method almost exclusively, haha! I've never seen someone else doing that, I don't believe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57