You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wandering Aimlessly, Flanerie 1918 to 2018

in #art6 years ago

This is the part where I bring up the privileged dynamics of flâneurie and how experiences and opportunities to engage in this kind of activity are strikingly different according to one's gender identity, sexual orientation, racial categorization, et al. It's not safe for some people to wander. I guess that's a commonality between 1918 and today.

Sort:  

I would love to see a map of where these aimless walkers are both in 1918 and today. I have a feeling we would be led to a lot of evidence that proves you right!

Also, the idea of "wandering" requires the privilege of free time and excludes people with housing insecurity etc. (I wouldn't have thought of that angle of it without your prompting, @cheider!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97