Self Portrait with Elephants and a trippy inkblob pattern art

in #art5 years ago

The last time I was back home at my parents' house in southeast Alaska, I found a folder of my high school art in the basement. I apparently only took pictures of two items I pulled out. I can evidently shoot hundreds of nearly identical shots of rocks and beaches but not take pictures of art I created and am separated from by thousands of miles.

Self Portrait with Elephants

circa 1995-96

image.png

I remember being unhappy with this double reflection self portrait when I drew it because I messed up the noses and facial proportions in both reflections.

Looking at it now with a little distance I think I kinda like it. I took an interesting approach to the reflection on the black lenses of the sunglasses, with an underlying colored ink drawing which I covered in black and then scratched to reveal in places.

Closeup 1

image.png

The room in the reflection is the high school art studio in Haines, Alaska. I wonder if the same posters are still hanging on the walls. My art teacher did just recently retire, so probably not. You can see a poster of the Rolling Stones tongue logo to the left of my head in the reflection.

Closeup 2

image.png

I had longish curly hair that fell in locks around my face when I was 15-16 years old so that is how i dated this :)


Trippy Ink Blob Pattern Art

image.png


All art by moi and never previously published online

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

I can evidently shoot hundreds of nearly identical shots of rocks and beaches but not take pictures of art I created and am separated from by thousands of miles.

oh you too?

Me gusta mucho tu dibujo, saludos!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83