So I Sold all my Photography Gear...

in #art5 years ago

SHOCKING, I know!!

I quit attempting to make a full-time business out of photography about a year ago, but the decision to sell my gear last month I think was just as important.

image.png
An image from one of my last professional shoots last fall...

You see, as long as I had that gear available to me, I was still saying 'yes' to jobs. One might wonder why that's a problem- it's a problem because when I shot those jobs, I was hating every minute of it. My editing turnaround was slow because I hated sitting there retouching. That sucked. The client wasn't getting the best of me, and I was making myself sick with anxiety and pain from these shoots.

image.png
My trusty old friend... who I sold to a nice gal who was just starting out.

I still wanted to take a big break from shooting. I wanted to completely stop shooting professional fashion/beauty/portraits. I just got to a point where I couldn't physically shoot anymore. I would show up to a shoot and be so tense that afterwards, I would be a day or two recovering from the pain & tension in my shoulder, neck, and head. Not only that, but editing brought on the same pain, despite my best efforts to create a very ergonomic workspace. I felt like my body was rejecting photography. I know that sounds weird, but it was becoming obvious to me that my subconscious and my body were screaming out to me that I needed to change something. I feel great not shooting... Shooting for fun, outside, or the occasional laid-back portrait, still appeals to me. But I need a break. A complete disconnect. My thought was, my Canon gear isn't becoming any more valuable sitting in my backpack... get rid of it!

image.png
This was also an exercise in not allowing myself to become so emotionally attached to inanimate objects... but dang, this old girl...

So I did!

I fully see myself investing in a new setup before 2019 is over, but for now, I'm really enjoying the peace. I have had to firmly say no to a couple of old clients (who I had already told that I was no longer taking bookings) by saying that I literally no longer have the tools to serve them. Some other photographers in town would be delighted to shoot for them.

So what now?

image.png
Learning silversmithing.

Now, my goals are to concentrate on developing my skills in my other creative outlets- painting and silversmithing. I have a ton to learn in both areas, so I'm really enjoying digging in.

image.png
My latest acrylic painting.

image.png
Digging, playing, learning.

I also have a mile-long booklist consisting of titles on silversmithing, creativity, and witchy spirituality.

image.png
This book started this fascination- "Witch" by Lisa Lister- check out my book review a couple posts back.

Most importantly, my mental and physical health are taking priority. I would love to learn lots about mindfulness, get my diet under control, and get outside as much as possible.

image.png
Beachcombing is my favourite.

All of this, hand-in-hand with my favourite guy, @mstafford, who is so supportive and awesome I have to wonder if he's real. He might be my imaginary friend. In any case, I'm super excited to finish our adventure van and get out into nature every weekend as the weather improves. It's going to be a very full camping season, I think!

image.png

Do you think I'm crazy for walking away from photography? Have you ever had to cut something from your life that you loved?

Sort:  

So long as you don't drop me and the pups -- you can do whatever you please.

Hello hello young lady!

Wait... could he be not real? I hadn't actually considered that. Man, now I feel silly spending so many hours on the @mstafford shrine.

Not only have I walked away from photography, but I've walked away from so many things that I've loved... and honestly, it just adds so much depth to your character. Moving country made it easy to sell off my motorbikes, indoor soccer and photography stuff, but I was honestly done with them all way before then. I still have pangs with each, but I'm also excited about all the new things too... and I've retained some skillage so I can show off if I need.

The photography thing was huge... I had always incredibly enjoyed the shoots and the editing was a chore, but as I started to enjoy less and less of my clientele it just made it 100% chore. I think my clientele actually changed throughout my career... it started with dancers, makeup artists, musos and models needing images to book jobs, and would work hard to get those perfect final images to people who wanted to instagram the process, and didn't care for the finals so much. I sold my good camera about 3 days before leaving the country so I didn't really know the same life without it, but I was totally unemotional about selling something I had spent so many hours with.

Very excited about your silversmithing! Seems super fun!

Right?! When a passion becomes a chore, it's time to reassess. The key is to keep it fun, and/or surround yourself with awesome collaborators and inspiring people/places!

I still find myself wanting to photograph every pup I see though... sooo we'll see what happens.

Yes the silversmithing is fun! I'm about to head out to my final class in this little series! Yay!

You will have to try panning for Gold out there in the Tulameen River BC. There is gold and platinum.

ooohh wouldn't that be interesting?! We have been thinking of trying rockhounding, but gold panning never even occurred to me! I'll look into it!

Looks like there are places on Vancouver Island.... https://www.goldrushnuggets.com/gomionvais.html

Thanks for such true feelings. I am a photographer myself, but never really be commercial enough to earn on my life. I more like a hobbist than proffesional in such source, also, my area of interests is completely different... but I totally understand and agree that in some point in our life we have to make changes to feel the same level of excitment and passion as before. Hope You will find Your new ways of life much more satisfying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94