You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So I Sold all my Photography Gear...

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Hello hello young lady!

Wait... could he be not real? I hadn't actually considered that. Man, now I feel silly spending so many hours on the @mstafford shrine.

Not only have I walked away from photography, but I've walked away from so many things that I've loved... and honestly, it just adds so much depth to your character. Moving country made it easy to sell off my motorbikes, indoor soccer and photography stuff, but I was honestly done with them all way before then. I still have pangs with each, but I'm also excited about all the new things too... and I've retained some skillage so I can show off if I need.

The photography thing was huge... I had always incredibly enjoyed the shoots and the editing was a chore, but as I started to enjoy less and less of my clientele it just made it 100% chore. I think my clientele actually changed throughout my career... it started with dancers, makeup artists, musos and models needing images to book jobs, and would work hard to get those perfect final images to people who wanted to instagram the process, and didn't care for the finals so much. I sold my good camera about 3 days before leaving the country so I didn't really know the same life without it, but I was totally unemotional about selling something I had spent so many hours with.

Very excited about your silversmithing! Seems super fun!

Sort:  

Right?! When a passion becomes a chore, it's time to reassess. The key is to keep it fun, and/or surround yourself with awesome collaborators and inspiring people/places!

I still find myself wanting to photograph every pup I see though... sooo we'll see what happens.

Yes the silversmithing is fun! I'm about to head out to my final class in this little series! Yay!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81