Steemer's Visit to the Artist's Villa/Museum - MyPictureDay Submission

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I am glad Steemers are not philistines - we care for art and appreciate the human-made beauty. Sculpture is one of my favorites!

Why do I like sculpture over painting for example?

I feel its three dimensionality. You can sometimes even touch it. It resembles us in material, as well as intellectual form. It is not pure thought as an impressionist painting. I also like how the material itself makes an impact, rather than only density of layers or color.

Granite. Marble. Wood. It even smells different.

Architecture even more so. It adds a pragmatic element. A useful beauty.

Here is Meštrović’s big sculpture at the entrance to the old city Palace. I already wrote about it. Check out my older posts.

But let’s see what Ivan Meštrović, maybe the most famous Croatian sculptor, has made and is now exhibited in his villa, now a museum.


Wikipedia, 1928

The villa is a marvellous edifice easily missed since it is at the outskirts of the city (in Split). I believe many tourists are simply oblivious to its existence. It took me about 25 minutes walk to reach in on foot from the city centre. But I was exhausted and slightly dehydrated due to beer overdose the day before.

Entrance and the ocean view across it. Stunning!

Stairs to the patio.

I have to admit I liked the sculptures outside the most. It somehow blends with the light and greenery around it. Some depict agony, anguish and distress but the nature around acts as a countermeasure.

I don’t mind heavy emotion here and there but I generally like to keep to positives. I don’t regret stuff, I have a beer instead.

Inside! Entrance is 40 kuna (6.30$), but if you are a student only half the price - 3.15$.

I won’t describe what I learned about the sculptures in the post since I prefer the post be read if possible. I keep it short. If you like I can say a few words in comments.

In the souvenir shop I got a glimpse into the author’s mind. A good way to wrap up my visit!


Camera: Cell phone - Moto G4 Plus 16MP

Adventures and feel-good vibes in posts of: @kingsmind @exyle @kus-knee @adventureevryday @trafalgar @slowwalker @twinner @ace108 @timsaidYou can find a lot more travel posts in my blog as well as other posts on various topics. Thank you for all your sharing, caring and upvoting!

Buy BTC with Coinbase. You and I both get 10$ for free if you use this link and buy 100$ worth of BTC.


Here are two FREE airdrops for you
100 WCX tokens airdrop here (worth over $10) https://wcex.co/?ref=U0jLWVT0
10 CS tokens airdrop here, decreases over time (worth over $10) https://wcex.co/?ref=U0jLWVT0

If you use the referrals, we both benefit!


How to make letters so small? Ask me in the chatroom! Let’s hang out!

How does the artist look during her creative effort? Check out @silviabeneforti and her studio in this post!


Painting or sculpture? Your preference?

Sort:  

Cool sculptures!

This Post was Added to the Steemit Social Media Queue.

Hey could you give some more info on this Social Media Queue?

wowowow! Thanks so much, @buzzbeergeek !!!! I'm really honored to be mentioned in your content!!! Thanks so much!!!
About your question "painting or sculpture?" I have to say that I love both!

Man, that place is beautiful and that is before even getting to the art!

such a wonderfull and beautifull land and most good capture from u this land

Nice place and statues :)

i want to be glad too

This villa is one of my favourite places in Split!

Thanks looks like a great place to visit and indulge in something else than beer! But come to think of it, beer stays the best! Sorry I like both paint and sculpture


This post got a 42.65 % upvote thanks to @buzzbeergeek - Hail Eris !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52