You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Little Black Dress 👗 Art by Red Dust

in #art7 years ago

This little black dress also accentuates a woman's figure.
Unlike so much of the junk that is called fashion these days.

On the reflections in the balloons. Did you just copy the details from the original photo, or did you try to compute them?
With watercolors you have to plan where all your highlights are going to be, what was your thoughts on the order of painting those highlights?

Sort:  

I don't use a computer, I draw outlines for shadows and highlights, with watercolor one works from white paper as highlight and light colors are washes, to darker opaque colors for forms and shadows. This is how I taught myself, I'm self taught. I do use photos from online searches on my iPad.

I am a technical guy -> artist.
So, when I say computing highlights.... well, I guess I do mean like what you would do on a computer. Here's the window (light sources), balloons are shaped like this, compute reflections...
These are what go through my mind. I don't think they go through other artist's minds.

I have seen some water color artists add highlights by washing. Specifically soap and water and scrub an area. But, that is probably more in the mistake correcting arena, that you wouldn't do if you planned your hightlights out before the brush got to the paper.

And then there is always cheating. Using white paint. Which I find almost essential for things like the bright spot on the eye things.

This painting came out very nice. Have you thoughts on framing it?

I don't follow rules, I'll scrub, use wash or white gouache to get the effect I see in my minds eye. I cannot afford to frame my paintings. Steemit is going to help me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58990.94
ETH 2670.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44