Geometric Sculpture

in #art7 years ago

A sculpture I made in 2014. In this piece I looked at the geometry which occurs in natural minerals like Pyrite and using 3d modelling software, I created a form which seems to followed a generative mathematical order. This piece looked at knowledge as it exists in the human and natural realm.

Details:
Hive, marine plywood, paint, 800x800mm,
Interplay, Curated by Mary Cremin, Dublin, Ireland.

8437239_orig.jpg

7386026_orig.jpg

1910824_orig.jpg

1955928_orig.jpg

3420810_orig.jpg

Sort:  

Thats a cool one. Upvoted & Followed.

Thanks a mill.

This is a 3D fractal. Up and resteemed!

I love those fractals.

Fantastic work, I love it! Thank you for sharing it with us @btcforrest :)

Thanks, always happy to share.

The detail and colour gradation are really nice!

Thanks, its all hand cut wood, glued together and painted the old fashioned way with several pots of paint and brushes.

Superb model and skills :)

Looking forward to see more of your work!

Thanks, also I see that you use blender so thumbs up :) my recent post is a video animation I made in blender. :D
Ill be keeping an eye out for your posts.

Thanks and I'll do the same :)

Very fractal looking, how much time did this take? Have you ever made a menger sponge? Awsome work!

Thanks, it literally took hundreds of hours! all the cubes were individually cut out or a 4x8ft sheet of wood. I havent no although I did play around with making an animation using that shape. Its a really beautiful fractal.

Thanks! That is very good!

If you would like some of your articles, like this one, to appear in the Mathematics forum on chainBB, then please use the #math tag as the first tag.

If you would like me to "index" this article within the Mathematics forum, please read this article, and just reply to this comment.

!-=o0o=-!

To follow curated math content follow @math-trail.
If you wish @math-trail to follow you then read this article.

Will do thanks.

All hail geometry (bows at a 45-degree angle)

Ha all hail!!!

Wow :) Nice color blend, shadows, geometric balance.

It actually reminds me of Voxels. I've made a few designs in a program called MagicaVoxel. Keep up the good work! :)

Thanks, I love voxel design. Will check out that program.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53