Sort:  

Definitely looks like a book to add to the list. Thanks for putting the 10 bullet points up there: so many truisms of the creative life you "kinda" know but have to be reminded of every so often.

You're very welcome! As I was reading I was struck by how appropriate and timely points 6,7, & 8 are to the burgeoning Steem community. Welcome aboard!

Yeah! I got this book for christmas. Nothing new under the sun but its a nice book and most of those advices are true. Followed!

Check our new comic:
https://steemit.com/drawing/@lepton/deepdown-song-turned-into-a-dark-comic-datamosh-video

Sounds like my kind of book. Not bad for $7.54...

I might try to find it at the Library also, then if not available, maybe I will just get it from Amazon.

It's a small book and a quick read so the price is about right. It's a good one to have lying around to flip through a couple pages occasionally when you feel creativity ebbing!

I'll write this book down on a list of books I need to check out at the library. I definitely agree with Number 5: Side projects and hobbies are important. I always have something to do everyday to keep myself busy - I actually wish I could go without sleep so I could get all my side projects more attention.

Absolutely! Being sleepless (without negative effects of course) would be a wonderful super power! Kleon talks about side projects from a couple angles, such as "productive procrastination" where you can switch between projects as some get you frustrated or stumped - and pursuing multiple passions like music and art because they help to shape and inform each other.
I can think of many painters who employ the first technique, even just to avoid waiting for paint on the canvas to dry! The second point reminds me of a great comic illustrator named Ron Garney. I remember an interview where he talked about his passion for playing in a band. It bleeds into his storytelling process as he visualizes and builds his scenes as though they were musical - adding beats and crescendos of action as if he were playing a song.

Congratulations @bryan-imhoff! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71