You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Full script of issue #001 of Cryptopia, my Steemit inspired comic!

in #art8 years ago

I just happened to glance at my feed 37 seconds after you posted this. It's great to see the project moving along. Your work and progress has been inspiring me (though I have been slacking lately!)

I'll have to give it a full read in the next couple days as I have the time. On first scan I'd recommend you look over the draft with an eye to possibly increasing your panel counts on some of the pages. You have a number of situations where there is a lot of back and forth dialog or multiple actions occurring within one panel that may be a nightmare to plan, especially in terms of word balloon placement and lettering. Page 24 is a good example. You'll need three separate speech areas coming from the Muslim Man with balloons from two other characters inserted at the right breaks in the conversation. That could get cluttered or confusing in a single panel splash page.
A page like page 4 should easily be 4 to 6 panels instead of two. Give yourself room to breath so your characters can do a bit of acting and show several different facial expressions during the back and forth conversation. Your obviously great at drawing those mannerisms!

Just a couple quick thoughts before I get to sleep! Take care and keep up the great work.

Sort:  

Yeah, you're absolutely right @bryan-imhoff. I ran in to the same problem with my previous comic, THEIA. I'm beginning to refine my process. Fortunately, as the writer and artist, I can make those adjustments on the page, but it's something I want to improve in my scripts because one day, I may want to take writing work for graphic novels, etc. Thanks so much for the feedback. I started following you a few weeks ago. It makes me so happy to see such great artists on Steemit, especially comic artists.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48