Luboš Plný - The first official 'Academic Model' of the history!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi everybody, today I'm going to show you something about a really interesting artist I've found at Prague's Dox Museum, as I anticipated yesterday on this post.

His name is Luboš Plný, he's from the Czech Republic and was born on November 1961. His works were shown at the 57th Venice Biennale last year. There are a lot of interesting aspects of his career, but I'm not here to copy and paste his biography. I would like, instead, to share with you something which captured my attention.

strawberry.jpg

I'd like to start with his early years when he was striving to enter in the Academy of Fine Arts in Prague. He applied so many times but has always been refused. So, in 1989, he decided to sit as a model for the figure drawing classes. His aim was to earn a title which wasn't existing at all as 'Academic Model', and he eventually managed to get it in the year 2000.

"I'd rather be the best model than a mediocre artist", he said, but he actually never stopped working on his projects, which I'll talk about more in another post.

This series of pictures are super hilarious and show him posing in the exact same way of some classical paintings or sculptures. As I'm not an expert in the history of art, I have found just a few of the famous artwork he took inspiration from. But, if you have a better knowledge about, you can challenge yourself and guess the names leaving a comment below!

The death of Marat - Jacques-Louis David

marat.jpg

The thinker - Auguste Rodin

posa.jpg

The creation of Adam - Michelangelo

creazione.jpg

David - Michelangelo

david.jpg

Discobolus - Myron

giavellotto.jpg




Now it's your turn: can you help me to find the names of the artworks and their respective authors?

Here's the first

crux.jpg

And two more here...

double.jpg

NOTE

- All pictures are exclusive property of the author.

For an Italian version of this post click here






Follow me @bronsedi

Sort:  

The works by Michelangelo and Rodin I would have recognized but I do not know whos works the ones are you posted :) It is a nice riddle! I will try to find out <3

I found out that the man with the cross is by Leonardo: "St. John the Baptist".

This guy is a really cool model btw. Thank you for sharing his story. I have not heard about him yet :)

Well, is a "professional academic model" ...muahahahahh <3

Yeeeee!!! =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55